Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-27-2013, 03:05 PM   #71
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Weehawken64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by brauny View Post
Is your tank set up yet? Do not put chemipure until your tank has cycled.
No I'm not putting it in yet.
__________________

__________________
Weehawken64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:18 PM   #72
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 134
UPDATE: Well new canopy came and it did not make a difference, the lid just does not close from the front middle going to the right and along the side. I looked at everything. Spoke with the company and the only other option after this is to get an entirely new tank and start over, which I will not do. I know it may sound petty, but buying a new tank and putting over $700 into this already and never had a fish yet. Tank was cylcing and from what Convict stated, going good. I have decided to just quit as there are no other options.

If someone has an idea of what I could do, let me know, but I am very disappointed and feel like I lost at the blackjack table.
__________________

__________________
brauny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 10:35 PM   #73
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Reefer4eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Glendale NY
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weehawken64 View Post
Wow nice tank Reefer. I just got biocube 29 a few days ago its still dry. New to this. Thank you for your post.
Thanks! It's been set up for about 2 years or more.one of the best investments I ever made,I use to have a 90 gallon reef and I have to say this biocube is self sufficient besides the weekly 5 gallon water changes.im in the process of building a new stand which I have on the DIY projects and I'm also taking the rim off along with new led's on the way
__________________
Reefer4eva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 10:28 AM   #74
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Reefer4eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Glendale NY
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by brauny View Post
UPDATE: Well new canopy came and it did not make a difference, the lid just does not close from the front middle going to the right and along the side. I looked at everything. Spoke with the company and the only other option after this is to get an entirely new tank and start over, which I will not do. I know it may sound petty, but buying a new tank and putting over $700 into this already and never had a fish yet. Tank was cylcing and from what Convict stated, going good. I have decided to just quit as there are no other options.

If someone has an idea of what I could do, let me know, but I am very disappointed and feel like I lost at the blackjack table.
Honestly your probably better off with the hood open a little to let some of the heat out..I have the hqi hood with 2 power compact bulbs and the evaporation of water cause of my setup is drastic,I also have a chiller to keep the temp at 76-77 and it runs a lot during the day.this is the main reason I'm getting led's.
__________________
Reefer4eva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:02 PM   #75
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefer4eva View Post
Honestly your probably better off with the hood open a little to let some of the heat out..I have the hqi hood with 2 power compact bulbs and the evaporation of water cause of my setup is drastic,I also have a chiller to keep the temp at 76-77 and it runs a lot during the day.this is the main reason I'm getting led's.
The company has offered the following. Keep what I have, do not have to send back the old canopy and they will send me a stand. The question is, how do I get the existing tank onto the new stand without taking all the water out. Any suggestions on lighting, I have the house LED, two additional LED (lunar and white) and then the house floruescents. Do not know what lighting I should go with and when.
__________________
brauny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:01 PM   #76
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 134
Ok I am ready, or at least I think I am ready for my first fish. Do I start with one fish, do I start with a coral? Any help is appreciated.
__________________
brauny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:09 PM   #77
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Reefer4eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Glendale NY
Posts: 185
The easiest way is to get a large tote and empty the water into it and all the live rock you have,reason being ....your tank is cycled already and you want to use the established water.i would leave a few gallons of water in the tank with the sand(lots of good bacteria flourishing in there)I personally don't care for the stand.i think it is made very poorly,do yourself a favor and use wood glue on every piece of wood ,you'll be thanking me in the future..
__________________
Reefer4eva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:11 PM   #78
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 134
So are you saying I should have went the other route and just got a new tank and exchanged it. Just want to do this right, yes I will use wood glue, thanks for the advice. What are the best starter corals and fish? I am thinking a clownfish to start.
__________________
brauny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:15 PM   #79
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Reefer4eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Glendale NY
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by brauny View Post
Ok I am ready, or at least I think I am ready for my first fish. Do I start with one fish, do I start with a coral? Any help is appreciated.
I would start with cheap fish something like blue green chromis ,take it from me I went out and bought a yellow tang that I spent 30 bucks for and he didn't make it 2 days.i definitely wouldn't go with damsels ,they are very territorial and aggressive.
__________________
Reefer4eva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:16 PM   #80
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefer4eva View Post
I would start with cheap fish something like blue green chromis ,take it from me I went out and bought a yellow tang that I spent 30 bucks for and he didn't make it 2 days.i definitely wouldn't go with damsels ,they are very territorial and aggressive.
Ok great, any snails or shrimp needed at first or just start slow.
__________________

__________________
brauny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
29 gallon, bio, biocube, cube, gallon, reef, reef tank, sw reef, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.