Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-17-2012, 12:44 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Beengirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,308
The difficulty is going to be that a lot( but not all) of your BB is on the gravel. You would need to remove half from one side of tank, add sand to that side, then wait a week or two and then remove the other half and replace with sand. When you add sand, take a cup full and put cup all way down to the bottom before pouring it out and turn off any powerheads you have going during this. That should hopefully cut down in the cloudiness. For a 30g, you could get 2 10# bags of live sand and you would be fine since clowns don't dig in the sand. I think live sand is about $10-14 for 10# at Petco. I only suggest the 2 separate bags to make it easier for you- you could always get one 20# bag and separate it, but keep it in a bucket of sw and keep wet cuz once the bag is opened, you'll have evaporation. When you clean your filters, just make sure you don't replace any material during this same time. That would probably be too much BB lost at once. Good luck!!
__________________

__________________
Beengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 01:52 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
I would remove the filter pads entirely. Unless cleaned daily to every other day they actually speed up the break down of the particles they catch.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 07:17 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Why not just take it out and make it a bare-bottom tank?? Clowns don't need substrate to breed.....
__________________
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 07:21 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
I know you said you are not using RODI due to a funding issue. That leads me to believe you are using tap water. If that's the case, have you checked the nitrates from the tap. You may actually be adding to the issue with the water changes if so.
__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 10:41 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rutrag View Post
I know you said you are not using RODI due to a funding issue. That leads me to believe you are using tap water. If that's the case, have you checked the nitrates from the tap. You may actually be adding to the issue with the water changes if so.
I was partially thinking the same thing. In the OP, they show a 25% drop in nitrates with a 33% water change, so there is likely some in the tap water. But, with the nitrates as high as they have, and showing a considerable reduction with pwc's, it's more tank issue than water issue. It just means they'll never be able to get to 0, but with a FOWLR, 0 isn't necessary..... they just need to get the rapid growth under control.
__________________
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 10:10 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sstanle4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 262
If we removed the gravel entirely, would that cause any problems with the tank? I know there’s bacteria and stuff in there we need.

I think we’ve checked the nitrates from the tap before and it was like 0-5.

As far as breeding goes, does anyone know if the male continues to twitch after they’ve become a “mated pair”? Our male still twitches… A LOT!

We’ve been trying to get them to spawn for about 8 months now but we are not having any success. Is there anything we can do to speed up the process?
__________________
26 Gallon Bowfront. Clownfish. Six-line wrasse. Coral Beauty. 2 Chromis. Cleaner Shrimp. 2 Emerald Crab. CUC. || 36 Gallon Bowfront. Snowflake Clownfish. Six-line. Watchman Goby. Harptail Blenny. 4 Chromis. Cleaner Shrimp. 4 Emerald Crabs. CUC. || 29 Gallon. Pair of Snow Onyx Clownfish. Watchman Goby. Pistol Shrimp. Small CUC.
sstanle4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 10:42 AM   #17
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,534
It depends on how much rock you have in there. If you are following the lbs per gallon concept, then you wouldn't need the substrate at all.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:43 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Pizza101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 153
Put on some Barry White at night! That should speed up the breeding process.. Also I would look around at your LFS for RODI water mine charges me .25 a gallon all you'll need is a couple of buckets from home Depo and you'll be good to go. If its a cost thing cut somewhere else but who wants to breath contaminated air?
__________________
Pizza101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:55 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hocky puck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 293
Feeding twice a day? Bad even if they are eating all the food they are still pooping more. Those nutrients are magically disappearing. Think of it as a diet calories in - Calories used = ? Excess calories weight gain. More used then eaten weight loss. The nitrates will feed on the extra food you put in whether its in form of flakes or poop. Also what r u feeding?
__________________
Hocky puck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:12 PM   #20
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,534
I only feed my fish twice a week. There isn't a need to feed twice a day. Since you have an autofeeder, your food is probably flake or pellet. All of this food is prob just rotting in your gravel bed and causing the nitrates. Kill the autofeeder and lessen feeding. Manually remove any algae you can and siphon the gravelbed.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breed, breeding, clown, clownfish, nitrate, problem

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.