Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-25-2013, 04:14 PM   #91
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
The tang won't be a cure for an algae problem. They will eat lots of veggies, but probably won't eat the algae you want them too. They can be uncooperative in that regard. Just be careful of tank length and size for housing a tang, you don't want to add troubles.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 01:53 PM   #92
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bschowa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wisconsin - River Falls
Posts: 419
I did two 40 gallon water changes this week, but right now without a skimmer I have no way to export the nutrients other than that I was just hoping that adding a small yellow tang would allow my tank to continue to be algae free for the next few weeks until I am able to purchase a skimmer I will continue to do water changes as that is the best way to get those nutrients out of there but I don't have the time to scrub all my rocks
__________________

__________________
Bschowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 01:54 PM   #93
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bschowa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wisconsin - River Falls
Posts: 419
Brents 150 gallon build

And my tank is actually a 125 so 6 feet long, from my research that should be plenty for a yellow tang unless I was reading from an unreliable source. Either way I think I am going to hold off and see what those water changes do, who knows maybe I got that skimmer I asked for for Christmas
__________________
Bschowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 01:59 PM   #94
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,532
You are def doing the right thing in terms of exporting your nutrients until you get a skimmer to assist you with this process. I'm not familiar with your build, but is there a sump on your setup? Putting a light on that would get algae to grow in there, rather than your display. It might be ugly, but it is still exporting nutrients.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 02:21 PM   #95
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
Your 6' should be fine for most tangs. Watch your feeding amounts and I might suggest weekly water exchanges until you get a skimmer, then every other week should do.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 02:48 PM   #96
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bschowa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wisconsin - River Falls
Posts: 419
I do have a sump, I might give that light idea a shot, so your basicly saying I should turn my entire sump into a algae scrubber? And just let it grow on the glass for now?
__________________
Bschowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 02:52 PM   #97
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
Brents 150 gallon build

Any algae you can grow, then harvest and dispose of exports nitrogen compounds. Algae scrubbers are setup to grow algae efficiently and provides an easy way to dispose of it. A macro algae growing in a sump is a simple way of doing the same thing, it just isn't as efficient. The idea is to throw the algae away, striping the water of nitrates and not just recycle the nutrients with a CUC or herbivores. Algae is your best friend, I decided many years ago to try to harness its benefits.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 03:41 PM   #98
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I disagree with the idea that pulling out algae will remove nutrients. If that's the case, if you were to drop in a bag full of algae, you would have a nutrient spike.
The larger the algae mass, the more nutrients it will pull. Algae growth, is what removes nutrients from the water column. Pulling out half of your algae crop will lower your refugium's nutrient absorbing ability by half.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 04:22 PM   #99
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
Brents 150 gallon build

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
I disagree with the idea that pulling out algae will remove nutrients. If that's the case, if you were to drop in a bag full of algae, you would have a nutrient spike.
The larger the algae mass, the more nutrients it will pull. Algae growth, is what removes nutrients from the water column. Pulling out half of your algae crop will lower your refugium's nutrient absorbing ability by half.



Of course you would have a nutrient spike if you added algae to decompose. So you just let it grow out of the sump? Every batch of algae you remove carries organics in it. Why would anyone, including myself, use algae scrubbers? I do not understand or agree with your comment this time. Maybe I misunderstood you.

http://www.reef2reef.com/forums/gene...t-murfman.html


And about 50 other threads support this. Look into Dr. Walter Adys research.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 04:31 PM   #100
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I'm not talking about decomposing algae. I'm talking about live algae.
What I'm saying is, you just hooked up your refugium and you toss in a giant ball of chaeto. Did your nutrient levels just go up? No. The only time I remove algae is when it's so overgrown that light won't hit all of it.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.