Broken Claws

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DarkUmbreon

Aquarium Advice Regular
A coral banded shrimp I caught got it's 2 claws removed while I was trying to catch it. Will it grow back? Will it live?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I would be surprised if it lives. If it was just one arm it can grow back but with both I can't really go e you a for sure answer.

Why do you say this? They usually use their other tiny claws for feeding.

Why do you say this? They usually use their other tiny claws for feeding.

He's just giving you his opinion, and I have to agree with it, but I'm sorry about your shrimp. I have had a lot of experience with shrimp in FW, and a bit in SW too, and the use their claws for getting around, feeding, defense, etc. The loss of two large limbs is traumatic, aside from any effects it may have on other abilities

However, there is no guarantee he will live or won't, so the best thing you can do for him now is make a low stress environment.

in the wild they lose there limbs a lot
it will most likely get its limbs back during it's next molt
but you may need to hand feed him till the molt occurs to prevent starvation

Yes I am pretty sure they purposely lose their large claws as a defense mechanism like geckos, I caught this at a beach so I wouldnt be too sad about it. But you rarely see them at the intertidal zone, usually down ib the reefs, I have no idea why it was in there. Maybe it got washed up?

So if it's taken from the beach and perishes it's not really that bad, but if you had purchased it, it would be more upsetting? Not sure I follow the logic there, sorry

Sent from my Z750C using Aquarium Advice mobile app