Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-23-2012, 05:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 296
Brown on sand getting worse and worse

Started to get this brown on the sand and in one spot the dreaded red slime but it wasnt bad at all. I have been doing 10-15 g PWC biweekly. Ammonia is 0. Nitrites 0 nitrates 0.

Tank has had livestock for about 6 months now. Readings always stayed at 0. 20 gal sump. Prob 50lbs love rock total. HOB aquaC remora fed by a T in my return. As good flow. Lights are on for about 8-10 hrs depending on the antics. 6 T5HO 39w 36" bulbs on the display. 2 T5HO on the sump 24w 18" I believe. I use an RO/DI system too

This pic shows its not that bad but come a week it'a way worse. Been going on for about a month or a little bit more. when i vac it out it just comes right back. What can I do differently? Please help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4227690302.jpg
Views:	270
Size:	259.5 KB
ID:	127107  
__________________

__________________
tnice17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 296
My skimmer doing more of a wet skim and produces more light water vs a heavy brown skim with less water--- if that matters
__________________

__________________
tnice17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Khij159753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Salem
Posts: 1,586
What size tank? What's the stock? Do you know phosphate level?
__________________
Khij159753 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khij159753
What size tank? What's the stock? Do you know phosphate level?
46 gal bow

5 fish, shrimp, snails, big brittle star fish, scallop, clam, mushrooms, acrophora, button polyps.

No I don't think I have one, phosphate I mean. Should probably get on that huh?
__________________
tnice17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 12:20 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Khij159753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Salem
Posts: 1,586
Yeah. It probably has to do with the phosphates.
__________________
Khij159753 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 12:24 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khij159753
Yeah. It probably has to do with the phosphates.
Just picked up a test kit.

The lighting makes it hard to read in person and in the pic but its between 0-.25
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1433005612.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	186.2 KB
ID:	127810  
__________________
tnice17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 04:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 296
Also picked up a TDS meter


My 30g tank of sitting fresh water reads 25ppm

The water coming out of my RO/DI reads 30-70PPM

My tap water is 270PPM.
__________________
tnice17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 05:24 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
I've never heard of diatoms feeding off of phosphates, but I have heard them feeding off of nitrates and of course silicates. You stir the sand when cleaning? Sand can contain silicates and when disturbed those silicates are released and consumed by diatoms. I recommend not touching the sand. Maybe weekly water changes would help too. How long have you had the filters for the RO/DI?
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 06:28 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
22engine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: RI
Posts: 1,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnice17
Also picked up a TDS meter

My 30g tank of sitting fresh water reads 25ppm

The water coming out of my RO/DI reads 30-70PPM

My tap water is 270PPM.
Those are high numbers and likely the cause. Might need new filters for the RO/DI. Really want to be one or less from what I have read
__________________
22engine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:13 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 432
When you distrub the brown stuff on the sand, does it come off like a mat? Is it a bit fuzzy?
__________________

__________________
Rosesrblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.