Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 10-03-2012, 09:08 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,441
With that stock, you definitely don't need to add any buffers... As Greg said, if you start adding a lot of SPS to your system, then you may need to dose. With what you're running, regular pwc's are replenishing everything your tank needs.

And I would absolutely recommend some good test kits (NOT strips!!). Red Sea kits are my recommendation..... maybe not as good as TOP end, but plenty good enough for the money.

Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:27 PM   #12
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
Sniperhank's Avatar

POTM Champion
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 16,358
That and the chiral you have are lps, not sps. Just remember that it's advice. Some people have no issues withusing things like steps and recommend them to others. They just aren't as accurate as liquid, and if you run a reef you want to be as accurate ad possible.

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:42 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
Gregcoyote's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,180
It's about the difficulty level of the corals you are trying to grow. Some are very tolerant, some aren't. Phosphates for example need to be measured at below .05 for most SPS corals. Most test kits have a real problem going this low. I use a Hanna meter for that reason. If you want to know just 3 values with accuracy, it is salinity, ph and phosphates,
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 10:09 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
kay-bee19's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 799
Originally Posted by Jaketit View Post
.. Everytime I go into the " good" lfs and get my water tested they say everything looks good just add some buffer...Then I go into the " crappy" lfs and he uses a test Strip and says my water is good and don't use buffer because you shouldn't put chemicals in your system...Hmmmm which on is correct?
If you're continuing to get your water samples tested at an LFS you may want to have them provide the actual parameters. "Looks good" and "is good" is open to a lot of interpretation, you'll want the actual dkH or ppm of the test results (if they didn't provide it).

Comparing the obtained parameters with what your target parameters are will give you a sense as to whether any adjustment is required or not, and if so, how much adjustment is needed.


Rift Lake and Reef tanks.
kay-bee19 is offline   Reply With Quote


Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.