Building protein skimmers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xahx

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ya know, i've looked at many protein skimmers and have come to the conclusion that people are making this stuff cheaply and making a hell of alotta money off us aquarium hobbyists.

I spent about $140 on a skimmer that i later learned was built by the LFS owner...

well, i believe its time to shop a little bit more wisely.

I ask for your help about where i may acquire the acrylic/plexiglass cylinders and tubes in order to create the dam skimmers my self. I have some experience creating things like this, so i dont think it should be very hard!

Any help would be Greatly appreciated! TIA!

And if i am successful, all AA.com members will benefit!

I just posted a DIY skimmer in the DIY section but it looks something like this. It is day 3 of operation and I woke up this morning to more foam than I've ever seen. Whoo hoo. The only problem is the acrylic tube, I salvaged one from a water filter, but I've heard the clear acrylic tubing is expensive, could just use pvc if you don't want to see inside that bad, it's not any different as long as it skims.

Attachments

• img_2687b_892.jpg
    img_2687b_892.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 103