Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-08-2005, 07:00 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Send a message via MSN to Pghjeff71 Send a message via Yahoo to Pghjeff71
Butterfly fish?

Hi, I've been a long time lurker here but this is my first time posting. I was thinking of adding a butterfly to my Fish Only 75G aquarium and was thinking of the longfin Heniochus Black & White Butterflyfish. Does anyone have experience with this fish? Any compatibility issues that I might face with my yellow tang?

Off-topic, I wanted to mention that adding a refugium to my setup has been the best investment I've ever made in this hobby. My water quality is incredible. I'm assuming this is something fairly new as I had not seen any mention of these even just a few years ago?

Thanks!
- Jeff

Old 04-08-2005, 09:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Hi Jeff. Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!!
Henis are great fish but they really do better in groups of two or more. These fish get rather large and a 75 gal may be a bit tight for them. Have you considered another species of butterfly?

Old 04-09-2005, 01:18 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

Send a message via MSN to Pghjeff71 Send a message via Yahoo to Pghjeff71
Thanks for the welcome Lando!

Do you have any suggestions-for example, what is your personal favorite? What would you personally consider adding to a 75G?

Or perhaps I should leave the aquarium "as is". I am amazed at the bond my clownfish and tang have formed. While the other fish do all get along their bond is very fascinating to watch!

- Jeff
Old 04-09-2005, 11:01 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict