Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-23-2006, 10:18 PM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Calcium Hydroxide

Everything I read about this is all good so I purchased E.S.V brand KALK powder. The directions say mix 2 teaspoons in a gallon of water, let settle and siphon off clear water and drip into your aquarium.

I have a 1 gallon pitcher and I inserted a screw adjustable drip fitting about 3 inches from the bottom, thats where all the white stuff settles.

The question is how much do I drip and night for a 120 gal tank.

LFS dude told me 1 gallon a night. Use it as my evap refill.

Sound right?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 10:31 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
That sounds in the ballpark, but you need to be testing at least a couple times a week if you are going to be dripping it every night.
__________________

__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 09:27 AM   #3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
yes, I'm going to get a test kit.
I have the normal stuff but no calcium.
Is red sea good?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 02:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
i'm no expert but I've not heard good things about red sea. salifert and seachem get good buzz.
__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 02:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
cant you just pour some of the kalk in a bucket of water when your adding water from evaporating and pour it in? or is that wrong?
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 05:37 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I think Kalk has to be driped in from what I `ve heard. But let the kalk experts chime in.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 06:12 PM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
yea, calc must be dripped.

The directions say 2 teaspoons to a gallon of water and to drip at night.
But it never asks for how many gallons.

For now I'm going to drip 1 teaspoon until I get a calcium test kit.

From everyting I'm reading online kalc it supposed to really make a huge difference in you tank with live rock and such.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 06:17 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
so i could drip a teaspoon in there? per night? i dont have a doser so maybe i could rig something up
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 06:57 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
you should test first.
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 07:44 PM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You must drip. You can use an IV setup or purchase a drip system from Kent Marine, etc... The reason you drip it slowly is, the solution is roughly at 12 PH and pouring a gallon in for top off, could decimate your setup. It is best to drip slowly at night when the PH tends to drop. this in turn keeps the PH steady as well as, adds calcium to you tank while you sleep... Most tanks do not require dripping Kalk unless you have a lot of SPS that is using it up faster than you can replenish with regular water changes. The first thing you need to do is test before you drip anything. You need to know where your level is before you start. If you are not using it up quickly, chances are, you would not need to drip at all.. Be careful.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calcium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« Done | Kalupa? »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia from ACE with 10% ammonium hydroxide Wenty Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 11-17-2009 01:31 PM
Alkalinity and Calcium HIGH Calcium reactor not hooked up ye doughboydj Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-29-2005 01:35 PM
calcium nodoubt471 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 11-01-2004 04:40 PM
Still have to dose calcium with a calcium reactor? limitup Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 09-08-2004 09:48 AM
best way to add calcium kalk or calcium reactor? pomme Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-02-2003 09:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.