Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-22-2011, 04:34 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Keysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 162
Calcium in my tank

Hi just wondering I've put calcium in my tank to speed up base rock to live rock growth will this kill my fish
__________________

__________________
Keysman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 09:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 247
No
__________________

__________________
SteveFishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 09:45 AM   #3
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
what was your calcium level before you supplemented? What was your target range?
__________________
*
If I wanted someone to 'tag along' I'd buy a wagon.

I despise skinny felines!
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 09:58 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I'd stick with water changes to suppliment calcium. Are you looking for the base to start turning pruple? Is that what you mean by speeding up base to live rock transformation?

Be careful, I've seen lack of patience cause folks problems in this hobby.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 07:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Keysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 162
I've got base rock that has nothing on it at all got top grade live rock in there as well about 30 per cent live 70 per cent base tank has cycled just put a small Saddle Valentini Puffer in there just put one dose of calcium in there to speed up live rock growth just wondering will it kill my fish
__________________
Keysman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:23 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Calcium is found in sea water naturally and a part of the salt mix we use, so it shouldn't be a problem. I'd guess anyting overused could be a problem, so, no mega-dosing.
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calcium, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get rid of Calcium in my tank? kaz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 12-16-2006 08:01 PM
adding calcium to the tank fisheye Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-11-2005 05:45 PM
Adding calcium into the tank chefrt Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-12-2005 01:06 AM
Alkalinity and Calcium HIGH Calcium reactor not hooked up ye doughboydj Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-29-2005 01:35 PM
best way to add calcium kalk or calcium reactor? pomme Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-02-2003 09:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.