Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-19-2005, 05:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 44
Calcium levels

Can your calcium levels be too high? Mine are at 600ppm with no additives. TIA
__________________

__________________
suthernsalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 05:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 143
I've seen that question asked before here and the answer was no. As long as other parameters are OK.

I'd question your test kit though as I would suspect it might be wrong with a reading that high without additives at all.
__________________

__________________

Equipment: 33G SW Reef tank (pic), 192W Coralife PC lighting, PHs for H2O circulation, Red Sea Berlin Classic Skimmer
Aquascaping: 3" DSB, 50lb live rock (~35 lbs home made Cement Base Rock)
Clean Up Crew: Blue Leg hermits, Cerith snails, Astrea Snails, Stomatella snails, Brittlestar, banded brittles.
Critters: Hawaiian feather duster, Coral Banded Shrimp, Emerald Crab
Corals: Open Brain Coral, Cabbage coral, 4 RBTAs, Melon mushrooms, green Zoos, yellow polyps, finger Leather, orange Zoos, Brown Zoos, Chocolate Zoos, Xenia, GSP, Kenya Tree Coral, 2 acropora SPS, blue sponge, candy cane
Fish/Inverts: Maroon Clownfish, Scooter Blenny, Coral Beauty dwarf angel, Sea Hare
vertex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 06:07 PM   #3
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
600 ppm Ca can eventually become quite damaging. It can cause polyp bail out, flesh becoming loose from the skelaton of corals as well as clam mantles loosing their edhesion to the shell to name a few. Not something I would suggest you leave be. Best suggestion is several water changes until it's corrected.

If you've made no chem additions at all buffers or otherswise, I'd suggest getting the Mg checked. Mg depletion is usually the largest contributor to a rising Ca and low alk.

I would suggest posting your alk and Mg if you can. Wouldn't hurt to post the levels of a new batch of SW after it's had a day to mix properly.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 08:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 44
I have a Red Sea test kit for pH & alk, and it says my alk is borderline normal/low.
I don't have an mg kit . My ca test kit is a Red Sea also.
__________________
suthernsalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 08:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 44
sorry my alk is high
__________________
suthernsalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 01:57 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
Quote:
Originally Posted by suthernsalt
sorry my alk is high
I'd be curios as to how high? If you're ca is at 600ppm I don't see how your alk could be terribly high?
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 02:44 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 44
My test kit only shows low, normal, or high. It registered borderline normal/high.
__________________
suthernsalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 09:12 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
take some water to the LFS or a friend and have them test it. I use salifert test kits and leve them may want to invest in some new kits... How old are yours, they do go bad over time.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 12:20 PM   #9
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by suthernsalt
It registered borderline normal/high.
Probabley somewhere in the range of 3.5-4 mEq/l. An LFS will be able to tell you as seaham358 suggested.

Red Sea is actually okay for the Ca part but the alk kit should be replaced. When dealing with reef chemistry, low/norm/high is not accurate enough.

I would still start on the water changes in the meantime. You won't make things worse. Just be sure that the new SW is well aged/aerated for at least a day before use. Once you get more accurate test kits you will know how better to proceed.

Saliefrt test kits should be available at just about any online store. I would see if you can go that route if your LFS is not able to provide something better.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calcium, level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
calcium levels ??? easyian Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 09-11-2008 04:01 PM
How to Lower Calcium Levels? What can High Levels Cause? xxnonamexx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-11-2005 04:34 PM
Calcium levels mjvincent Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-04-2005 01:27 PM
Calcium levels b3noodles Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 08-22-2004 07:53 PM
Calcium Levels CB Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 05-11-2003 12:23 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.