Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-28-2006, 03:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Can Crushed Coral cause high nitrates?

I am new to this hobby. I have a 46 gallon bow front tank with 65 lbs of LR, 20 lbs of LS and 40 lbs of Crushed Coral. The Petco lady suggested that I use crushed coral. I have a HOB Bio Wheel filter. The AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer is on order. Hopefully, it will be delivered by the end of the week.

Fish:

3 pajama cardinals
1 damsel
1 half-black angel

My tank has been up and running for about 8 weeks now. My ph is 8.2, ammonia is 0, nitrites are 0 but my nitrates are 40 ppm. I have been doing a lot PWC's trying to lower the nitrates down from 80 ppm.

I’m hearing that crushed coral could be the source of my high nitrate problem. Is that possible? Should I try to remove the crushed coral and add more sand? Can that be done without making my water cloudy?

Old 02-28-2006, 03:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

this is most likely your problem i got the same advice for cleaning it and boy will you be suprised how muck crap the is hiding in that crushed coral

Old 02-28-2006, 06:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Crush coral can definitely be a source of NO3. Best thing is probably to try and remove a little of the CC at a time over several weeks until it is gone and then slowly add sand back in the tank in several phases. Slowing removing the CC will keep from removing a large % of your bio filtration at once and adding the sand in 2-3 phases will insure proper seeding. Bio wheels are "known" to also be NO3 producers.
Old 02-28-2006, 09:06 PM   #4

Thanks for the responses. I plan on removing the bio wheel filter as soon as I get my protein skimmer setup. Hopefully, that will help lower my NO3.
Old 03-01-2006, 01:33 AM   #5