Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-31-2004, 11:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Crystal Minnesota
Posts: 388
Can I Do This???

My zooanthids have some string and hair algae on them and is bothering them so they will not come out at all. Is t ok to us a soft toothbrush to lightly brush of the algae?? I did this with my star polyps that had a lot of algae on them and now they look better than ever. Will it hurt the polips at all or do any damage to the zoos?? PLease help

TIA,
Josh
__________________

__________________
Joshsmit56001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 12:15 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 869
Send a message via ICQ to jackdp
I would first try blowing the algae off with a turkey baster or syphoning it off. But more importantly, figure out why you have all this algae. Test your tank for nitrates and phosphates? Do you use tapwater for water changes and top offs? Has the tank been running for less than 6 months?
__________________

__________________
Brad C.
jackdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 12:18 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Crystal Minnesota
Posts: 388
Phosphates are at 0 nitrates are at 0, us RO water, tank has been up for over a year. I have tried use a turkey baster, it doesn't get the algae off, it blows other stuff off but not algae
__________________
Joshsmit56001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 07:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: sacramento, ca
Posts: 81
what about a clean up crew? they will eat most types of hair algae. scarlet hermits and snails.
__________________
40g show
30g sump/fuge (low flow)
2 PH's and via aqua 2600 sump pump
50lbs LR
2" cc on 3/4 plenum
3" sugar aragonite in fuge with hair algae
20w white NO in fuge
65w pc 50/50 (2 bulbs)
20w actinit 2 damsels
1 TR clown
shrooms and zoos
h2o quality is solid 0's. 80 d.
sacramentofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 08:22 PM   #5
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Phosphate and nitrate both at 0? Something has to be causing the algea growth. If your tests are accurate there is some kind of nutrient getting in your water to cause it. You have a protein skimmer going? That will help, but those 0's and nusiance algea usually aren't seen together.
__________________
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 08:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Crystal Minnesota
Posts: 388
I think I might try doing some large water changes
__________________

__________________
Joshsmit56001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.