Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-27-2008, 01:34 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
you guys think i should be running my 250W MH to try to grow algee faster ??

i purchased snails and crabs from online store . thats kinda a reason why i purchased so much because it was a cleaner kit for my size tank .
__________________

__________________
heydo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 01:37 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I would not suggest doing anything to grow algae. You are going to loose some snails and hermits...it happens...that cleaner pack is great for an established tank but not a brand new one. There just isn't a large enough food source in the tank to support that many inverts yet.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 03:08 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
so then there is no need at all to be running my MH light than right ?

thanks for everyones help , i'll post water tests when my kit comes .
__________________
heydo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 06:18 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
here is my water tests ... i was wondering how close to the line in the tube should you be ? above the line ? below the line ? the line is about 1/8 inch thick . these are very close , the colors are sometimes not so easy to tell but i think i got it right .

ph ... 7.8ppm
ammonia ... 0.25ppm
nitrate ... 80ppm or more
nitrite ... 2.0ppm

ok so if these are high or low could someone please tell me how i should go about makeing it better . i just did a 5 gal water change in my 45 gal tank only 2 days ago and one a week or less before that . help please
__________________
heydo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 07:25 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Looks like your tank is cycling. From your first post, sounds like there are fish in there so you probably want to do water changes daily to keep the ammonia and nitrite levels down as low as you can. In hindsight, it probably would've been better to cycle the tank without the fish as suggested in a previous post, but you are where you are. Ammonia/nitrites are toxic to fish and you want to keep those numbers low. Normally, you want them to be zero, but you need some ammonia/nitrite to build up the beneficial bacteria.

Your nitrates are extremely high for a tank that is cycling. Either there was some "user error" when testing, or you're using some really nasty water. Are you using tap water?

I wouldn't worry about pH right now - you normally want it around 8.0-8.4, but during a cycle it will wander all over the place.

I'm thinking 20% water changes daily to keep those ammonia and nitrite levels down, or you're going to be losing livestock.

[Edit: Ooooooh... I just reread your first post and you've got quite a few live critters in there. Definitely keep on top of those water parameters and test daily.]
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 07:34 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
ok so i have 45 gal tank but i have alot of rock and a pretty deep sand bed . so is 10 gals of water a day to much ? and for how long should i do this ? thanks for your help
__________________
heydo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 07:41 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
I don't think it's too much - just make sure your water change water is matched in both temperature and salinity to your tank water. In reality, with nitrite levels of 2.0 I'd probably do 25-30% of a change. Those are pretty high.

With the nitrite high, and the ammonia pretty low, I'd guess that you're on the tail end of the cycle and you'll probably be cycled in a couple weeks. But I'd do it for as long as you detectable ammonia and nitrites.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
invertebrates, stock, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
invertebrates tank only xpistalpetex Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 08-08-2008 06:21 PM
Saltwater Reef Tank and invertebrates/mollusks NCClaudson Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 6 02-23-2007 04:04 PM
Invertebrates NCClaudson Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 3 11-11-2006 05:47 PM
How long would ich last in a tank with only invertebrates? illuminum Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 1 04-06-2004 03:12 PM
requirements for Fish and hardy invertebrates tank philc21 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-08-2004 01:30 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.