Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-25-2015, 01:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
NigelK8485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,431
Can you over skim?

I've been emailing back and forth with a few people and when I get home I'm going to pull the trigger on getting a tank to start up saltwater. It'll be either a 90 gallon or 120 gallon depending on if this guy will trade me for my 45 or not. I'll have a 40 gallon sump, and then I can get a great deal on this protein skimmer but it's rated for up to 300 gallon tanks.

I've read that having too large of a skimmer can remove vital nutrients from the tank but have also heard the opposite. Do you think it'd be alright to run a skimmer rated for such a larger tank?


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
NigelK8485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 02:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Anovack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 211
I could be mistaken but the only problem with running a skimmer at a wet skim is that your taking salt water out and would be replaced with rodi water and would lower the tanks salinity over time.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Anovack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 04:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
You want to get a skimmer rated at least twice your tank size in case you have something die it won't crash your system. I think if you got a 125 with a 40 gallon sump a protein skimmer rated for 300 gallons would be perfect. Not sure about the 90 gallon but I don't think it would hurt anything


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 06:26 PM   #4
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,529
on my 37g tank I run a 100g rated skimmer on my 90g I run a 300g rated skimmer
bigger skimmers are better for the reason its not straining to keep up ,
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 07:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 1,734
Some clarification needed.
If you are using a commercially available skimmer designed specifically for the aquarium industry, the chances of "overskimming" to a point of having a detrimental impact on livestock is rather slim. Those skimmers simply do not have the length of bubble/water contact time, about 2 minutes, that results in pulling trace elements and minerals out as well.
My air powered DIY skimmer has a contact time of about 1+ minutes, that's how long it takes for probably 90% of the bubbles to reach the surface after the air is turned off, and I haven't encountered any issues.


Two minutes is supposedly the ideal contact time as it allows more waste to be removed.
__________________
PB_Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 09:05 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Reefing Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: AZ
Posts: 577
Run a skimmer rated for twice the volume of your total volume.
__________________
Reefing Madness Tank Pics
Reefing Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 09:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,251
IMO you will not easily over skim.
I run a MTC HSA 1000 I believe rated upto 750g on my 120 without issue?
page8
With ozone.
Go big or dream you did!
__________________
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 09:26 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
NigelK8485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,431
Awesome, thanks. I'm getting the 120 gallon and the skimmer is rated at 350 gallons so should be great.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
NigelK8485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 09:29 PM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Orange County
Posts: 341
No you cannot. The post about salinity for wet skimming was only factor. You may need to not top off your tank on day of water changes or add in salt for super wet skimming.
__________________

__________________
Reefer James is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
to skim or not to skim that is the question elke General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 06-17-2005 06:43 PM
To skim or not to skim formanbob Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 01-11-2005 06:04 PM
to skim or not to skim bschnuck Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 06-18-2004 09:05 AM
To skim or not to skim! Joshsmit56001 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 12-17-2003 09:38 AM
To Skim or not to Skim nugrad2005 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 05-21-2003 10:48 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.