Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-04-2013, 05:57 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 174
Thank you sniper!
__________________

__________________
minkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 06:05 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
You could make a reactor as well, but only do that once everything is under control
__________________

__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 11:47 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 174
Could it possibly be that my API nitrate test just sucks and it's not giving the right results?
__________________
minkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:24 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,706
Easy answer... Maybe.

Better answer... Take 2.5ml of tank water and 2.5ml of quality RO/DI. Mix them both in a test tube and test it. If your tank is truly at 40ppm and the RO/DI is at 0ppm then you should get a result of 20ppm.
__________________
I support the right to arm bears.
blert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:43 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by minkin View Post
Could it possibly be that my API nitrate test just sucks and it's not giving the right results?
Are you shaking that API kit like your life depends on it? If it's not well mixed, your numbers will be all over the place.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:12 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Have you tested just the RO/DI water? when my filters need to be changed my phosphates and nitrates are off the chart Also ask your LFS to test your water you could have a bad test kit
__________________

__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.