Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-30-2011, 05:39 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Cantareadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 172
I'm guessing a media bag is a semi permeable bag you get somewhere?
Not sure but hey I buy the 88 cent nylons at Walmart and use that
__________________

__________________
Cantareadio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 06:00 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ontario
Posts: 771
Some say that carbon can leach. So I run small amounts of it and change it every month, also I've been using the high grade carbon from brs and find that it floats. And constantly is trying to escape my media reactor. I had to put a sock on the return hose. Next time will be trying another type
__________________

__________________
Sqasnatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 06:49 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ricksreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantareadio
I'm guessing a media bag is a semi permeable bag you get somewhere?
Not sure but hey I buy the 88 cent nylons at Walmart and use that
I use two I got from Drsfosterandsmith ,Velcro closure and they last forever.
__________________
Ricksreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:12 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sqasnatch
Some say that carbon can leach. So I run small amounts of it and change it every month, also I've been using the high grade carbon from brs and find that it floats. And constantly is trying to escape my media reactor. I had to put a sock on the return hose. Next time will be trying another type
Try the pellet version, it seems to be easier to keep under control.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 02:45 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Cantareadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 172
What's leaching?
__________________
Cantareadio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 02:53 PM   #16
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
I jsut use whatever carbon I can find that is cheapest. just because it costs more somewhere than another place doesn't mean squeezing it hard enough won't turn it into a diamond.

I run simple carbon in filter floss. Nothing fancy. Water is crystal clear and my filter is 10 years old and not ment for the tank size I'm running. It is only an emergency fill in since my biowheel pump burnt out. So if a filter from a 10 gallon tank can take care of a 36 gallon... carbon is good and shouldn't be taken out. That is my story and I'm stickin to it.
__________________
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 10:29 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ontario
Posts: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantareadio
What's leaching?
They say that there is something in carbon( usually higher amounts of it) that leaches into the water, however at the moment it's not coming to my mind
__________________
Sqasnatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 11:11 PM   #18
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
When they "activate" the carbon they spray it with phosphoric acid. The leaching u are talking about would be phosphate. Atleast that's what u read
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:30 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
The stuff you buy at BRS is free of phosphates.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:43 AM   #20
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
No all carbon has phosphate in it. Whether it be 1 of .3 ppm. Most carbon sold had a detectable reading after agitating it. Some not till later.
__________________

__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carbon, carbon filter, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combination of Canister Filter and Fluidized... very interesting!!! CRUSHER General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 12-13-2011 10:13 AM
Carbon Filter I Fluval Edge 23ltr asboss Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-06-2011 04:09 PM
Removing carbon from filter Impulse09 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 11-04-2011 01:50 PM
How to fast cycle with an API NEXX filter (or any filter)) zparticle Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 09-11-2011 09:36 AM
HOB Filter inserts w/out carbon? theoutdoorsykid General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 07-30-2011 03:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.