Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-07-2005, 04:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 154
Carbon - Necessary?

After my canister filter leaking incident on Christmas day, I have totally removed it. The only thing that really concerns me is that I'm not running carbon, I was running it 24/7 before.

Thoughts?

Also, any thoughts on getting rid of hair algae? I thought the Blenny would help, but he's not doing much. (the algae was there with the carbon too)

46 gallon bowfront.
3-4 DSB
CPR BakPak2R skimmer
Approximately 60 lbs LR
3 Maxijets for movement

No sump or fuge
5 gallon water change every other week

2 clowns
3 chromies
1 algae blenny
1 blood red fire shrimp
1 camelback shrimp
1 brittle star
__________________

__________________
"Caution: Cape does not enable user to fly." -Batman Costume warning label
Mrbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 04:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 154
Oh yeah, I'm using RO water, and I replaced my 10 month old Power Compact bulbs just a couple weeks ago.
__________________

__________________
"Caution: Cape does not enable user to fly." -Batman Costume warning label
Mrbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 04:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
schoeplein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,213
Reduce lighting hours.
Reduce feeding.
__________________
schoeplein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 04:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 154
I have reduced lighting, and I only feed like an eighth of a formula one cube every other day, at most. My RO filters are good, bulbs are good, not overfeeding, I just can't seem to get rid of this algae.

I forgot to list 1 small hermit crab, 4 turbos, 5 olive snails, and assorted smaller snails.
__________________
"Caution: Cape does not enable user to fly." -Batman Costume warning label
Mrbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 04:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
schoeplein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,213
Hmm... the only thing that causes algae to grow is by providing it with nutrients. Are you cleaning the frozen food in warm water before dropping it in the tank? What color is the algae?
__________________
schoeplein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 05:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 154
Well I had cyano pretty bad for a while, and still do have a little bit here and there. Now I'm having a hair algae outbreak. The stuff is going crazy.

What I do with the cubes is cut off some very small slices (like Paulie cutting garlic in "Goodfellas" ) and drop it in the tank. It seems to all be eaten within minutes.
__________________
"Caution: Cape does not enable user to fly." -Batman Costume warning label
Mrbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 05:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
schoeplein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,213
The frozen food is suspended in a liquid that is useless but harmless to fish and feeds your algae phosphates. Drop a cube or half a cube into your net and run it under room temperature tap water to leave the fish goodies only. Keep cutting back on lighting, and feeding to a minimal amount. Its the only way to fight the stuff. ChemClean will help destroy Cyano, but it will always come back unless you manage the source. Algae growth is also accellerated with warmer water: Try dropping it down a couple degrees.
__________________
schoeplein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 05:17 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 154
Cool, thanks for the tips. I'll try anything at this point.
__________________
"Caution: Cape does not enable user to fly." -Batman Costume warning label
Mrbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 05:41 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Does the algae grow in the same spots, or is it just all over? How long has the tank been setup? I had my share of cyano for a few months in the beginning stages before it finally went away.

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 05:43 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Almost forgot: If you have a test kit, test the water to see what the parameters are.

Mike
__________________

__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carbon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To carbon or not to carbon, that is the question. Caincando1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 07-21-2006 01:18 PM
how much carbon pufferman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-26-2006 10:15 PM
Is it Because of Carbon? AMANIQU77 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 01-20-2006 11:15 PM
carbon milmokes Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 01-05-2005 06:03 PM
Carbon or not? treedae Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 09-12-2004 04:58 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.