Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-05-2005, 02:34 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 41
What's in your sump?
__________________

__________________
Don424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 02:45 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweet Briar, Va
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to amahler
I agree with you... but I was given this tank as a running system (substrate, water and all) when it was two years or more old.

Trust me, I think this substrate is already in the nitrate factory category.

I'll know more when the final bio-balls are out and some water changes have happened afterward. If they are still up, I won't have a lot more to point my finger at by that time.

This will also all take place in a fallow tank since all the fish will be in QT when the last bio-balls come out.

Keep ya posted...
- Aaron
__________________

__________________
Linux: Because rebooting is for adding hardware.

90G acrylic/22G sump/TF100A skimmer
90lbs (45 liverocks.com & ~45 donated 14+ year old Fiji)
Imperator, D. Saddle Butterfly, 2 Percula Clowns, Cleaner Shrimp and an army of Hermits that never sleep
amahler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 09:30 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,044
Send a message via MSN to StripesTheEel
I have crushed coral and i have had no problems at all.. a vibrant white at all times.. i have a golden head sleep goby who cleans it all day long.. as far as getting your substrate out... the cheapest way is some hose a very big bucket.. throw on end in the tank and suck on the other end then wallaaaa here comes the water.. but watch out... put the end in the bucket straight away...salt water is yuk!
the end of the hose thats in the tank grab a hold of that and stir it around.. it'll suck up all the dirty stuff and if u want your substrate gone that'd be sucked up to

good luck!
StripesTheEel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 09:32 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Aaron, are you replacing the bioballs with anything?
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 11:59 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweet Briar, Va
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to amahler
Lando,

Yes, live rock. I added 45 more pounds before I started the bio-ball removal and will add probably another 45 pounds in the coming weeks.

Right now I'm at about 80 pounds total in the tank and will be closer to 120 to 125 when I'm done.

Even with the bio-balls coming out, my ammonia and nitrites stay at zero all the time (except for a small, small bump for about two days when I added the last batch of LR).

Figure in a substrate change to sand and I'd hope I'd be doing ok in a 90 gallon tank (and yes, I have a skimmer).

Most of the rock is in the display tank - but there are a couple of inches in the sump and I have a piece of "reef bone" (dead LR that tested positive with vinegar) that I plan to demolish and add to the sump as well. It's dead right now, but I suspect it'll seed pretty quickly.

Thanks!
- Aaron
__________________
Linux: Because rebooting is for adding hardware.

90G acrylic/22G sump/TF100A skimmer
90lbs (45 liverocks.com & ~45 donated 14+ year old Fiji)
Imperator, D. Saddle Butterfly, 2 Percula Clowns, Cleaner Shrimp and an army of Hermits that never sleep
amahler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 12:34 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Sounds good. You amy want to consider the possibilty of putting LR rubble in the bioball chamb for added biological filtration. If you are lucky, you can get it for free from the LFS. Just have them save up all of the small broken peices from the bottom of the shipping boxes.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 01:12 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by lando
You amy want to consider the possibilty of putting LR rubble in the bioball chamb for added biological filtration.
I have 30 lbs of LR rubble just in my sump... possibly more. Am/Nitrites/Nitrates haven't been detected since a couple weeks after my cycle finished.
__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 01:34 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweet Briar, Va
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to amahler
Thanks, folks... sounds good to me. By saying I had LR in my sump, that's what I meant. I am putting it where the bio-balls were formerly located - and the "reef bones" are going to be rubble soon after I finish a hammer job.

Here's a picture from earlier in the process. There are far less bio-balls in there now:

http://sparhawk.sbc.edu/tank/new-rock/source/7.html


Thanks!
- Aaron
__________________
Linux: Because rebooting is for adding hardware.

90G acrylic/22G sump/TF100A skimmer
90lbs (45 liverocks.com & ~45 donated 14+ year old Fiji)
Imperator, D. Saddle Butterfly, 2 Percula Clowns, Cleaner Shrimp and an army of Hermits that never sleep
amahler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 02:18 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Perfect!
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate, suggestions

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
suggestions for changing substrate happygirl65 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 08-13-2007 06:00 PM
Replacing stock light. Replace substrate too? scarf Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 09-11-2005 05:33 PM
by any chance can you? aquarium Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-10-2004 11:54 PM
to replace or not to replace is the question scuba_steve Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 07-08-2004 10:52 AM
Refugium-substrate suggestions smokiums Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 11-05-2003 08:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.