Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-06-2012, 04:22 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cjsanders757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 297
Changing sand

How would I go about changing the sand in my 80 gallon? Drain the water then scoop out or just scoop maybe a cup full over a period of time?
__________________

__________________
Cjsanders757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:57 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Smudgy35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hampshire UK
Posts: 50
just go on to YouTube thers loads of videos on there showing you how to do it, it's realy not that difficult
__________________

__________________
Smudgy35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
baron1282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 926
How often should one change sand?
__________________
Fish Sticks, the best thing you can do with your dead fish.
baron1282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:02 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Theres really no need to change sand. Its just unecessary work
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cjsanders757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 297
I'm changing mine because it's play sand and leaches silicates
__________________
Cjsanders757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:32 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cjsanders757
I'm changing mine because it's play sand and leaches silicates
Do you have algae problems?
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cjsanders757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma

Do you have algae problems?
Yeah I have the brown algae/Dustin issue along with cyano. But I'm getting new pumps for the cyano and adding more sand sifters
__________________
Cjsanders757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:34 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cjsanders757 View Post
I'm changing mine because it's play sand and leaches silicates
All sand contains silicates. They will get consumed as the diatoms feed off of it and eventually die. No real need to change out your sand b/c of the silicates.
__________________

__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.