Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-25-2011, 06:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
Changing Sand Out

I was just wandering when I go to change out the my sand in the tank doing half of the tank at a time could that cause a disaster? Like the tank crashing
__________________

__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
I don't get your question?

Why are you changing out your sand?
__________________

__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
It is for the new tank that I am hopefully will be getting and I want to get as much sand seeded as possible. If I get that 180 gal tank I will need over 200lbs of sand to get 3-4 inches deep prefer a 4in deep sand bed. So that the transfer will go smoothly and no crashes..
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:16 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I`m thinking you mean change out your crushed coral to sand right? I would change out about a 1/4 at at time. Get a plastic piece of hose and when you do a PWC siphon out about 1/4 section of the CC. Then take a piece of PVC and slide the rinsed out new sand to where it needs to go.. In about a week start on another section and keep doing this untill you are done. Make sure you have fresh SW available to replace what you took out.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwilliams View Post
It is for the new tank that I am hopefully will be getting and I want to get as much sand seeded as possible. If I get that 180 gal tank I will need over 200lbs of sand to get 3-4 inches deep prefer a 4in deep sand bed. So that the transfer will go smoothly and no crashes..

why such a deep sand bed?
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
I don't know I just like a medium deep sand bed. Not to thin and not to thick.

Melosu58 no not crushed coral I have the Aragonite sand in my 55gal tank and it is not nearly enough for the big tank that I am wanting to get and I wanted to get the new sand seeded for the new tank.
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
The sand will seed itself with LR. I would go with 2-3 inch sand bed.
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:45 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
I will probably start out with the 3ins and go from there.....
Whenever I make up my mind on the tank/size - used or new and all that good stuff....
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 07:16 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Here's what I'd do - if I got it right from you...

Buy new sand for the new tank. I like the 3" depth too. Purchase new base rock. After rinsing the sand VERY well, add it and start your aquascape with the dry base rock. I did the exact same thing and found a lot of flat pieces. Actually, those flat pieces went in first, really under the sand. Then the sand. Added the new SW, about half full or enuf to receive your established rock from the 55g. Now, you gotta test the water with the base rock in case of ammonia from dried organic matter that will decay again when in water. If the rock is good and tests OK, add the established stuff too.

I'm thinking you can make an easy transition without cycling anything. May have to add the fish slowly. I'd leave the last few pieces of established rock in the 55 until they're all gone.

Boy, I got talkative... HTH.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 07:44 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
Thank you Ray that is kind of what I am wanting to do. I just wanted to get some of the sand pre-seeded before I get the tank. I have not bought the Base Rock yet that was in another Forum that I have out here. Pocket book is not working with me. So the tank has been put on hold and I am just getting all small stuff for now. I am hoping for a very easy transition without the cycling too.... I will probably put the fish into the 42 hex once I get everything going that way they want be to stressed out. The water in that tank is the same as the 55 gal, nitrates, nitrites and all that good stuff all levels are identical. Don't even know how that can be when there is only 1 fish in the 42 hex and 6 fish in the 55gal. Once I get all my items I will start a new forum on the transition....
__________________

__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing sand refresher krap101 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-15-2009 04:01 PM
Changing from cc to sand - help? JodiW Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 10-25-2008 06:49 PM
changing from crushed coral to sand rachel7546 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-22-2004 10:10 AM
Changing Substate - Can I mix CC and sand? cybercron Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 02-28-2004 07:00 PM
Changing substrate, which kind of sand should I get? kellieandjason Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 02-23-2004 03:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.