Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-19-2004, 11:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MI.
Posts: 190
Changing substrate

Anyone ever go from CC to DSB?

I went with a DSB in my 75gal and CC in my 65gal. My 65 is the more established tank that I am slowly putting corals in. I like the look of the DSB better, how tough would it be to switch substrates?

I've got a very good pod population going for my mandarin, how bad would that take a hit?

Would there be another cycle? I was thinking 90lbs of Caribsea oolite and 30lbs of Caribsea LS in a bag.

Thanks,
Rich
__________________

__________________
acid_burn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 11:57 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
The common thought is to do it 1/2 or so at a time to try and preserve as many critter as possible. I would siphon out 1/3 to 1/2 and replace it with sand. Wate a couple weeks and do it again. After all the sand is in add 1/2" at a time until it is at the desired level.
Do a search of the forum. There are lots of threads dealing with this.
__________________

__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 12:21 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 840
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showqu...q=2&fldAuto=27

Thats also a good article

HTH
__________________
"I know the human being and fish can coexist peacefully."
—Saginaw, Mich., Sept. 29, 2000
ClamKnuckle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 09:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MI.
Posts: 190
Thanks guys, thats a good article ClamKnuckle.

I guess I need to exercise my search button a little more!

Thanks,
Rich
__________________
acid_burn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 12:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 840
Hey don't feel bad...I search for stuff I know i read on here and can't find it all the time
__________________
"I know the human being and fish can coexist peacefully."
—Saginaw, Mich., Sept. 29, 2000
ClamKnuckle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Substrate?? Mattei Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 12-30-2009 04:33 AM
Changing Substrate meegosh Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 04-22-2008 05:24 PM
changing substrate mom2reds Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-16-2006 04:06 PM
changing substrate justrelax Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 06-26-2006 06:42 PM
changing my substrate slroo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-27-2006 11:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.