Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-16-2004, 08:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Posts: 8
Changing substrates... HELP!!!

Hello,

First time user and a novice aquarist.

I inherited a 75/US Gal reef aquarium from a friend and I'd like to change substrates from crushed coral to something along the lines of Seachem's Meridian.

I want to add a clam and a couple of substrate dwelling LPS' (fungia, helio) and I understand that a crushed coral bed is not the ideal substrate for the fleshy tissues of some LPS.

My question is: Can I slowly introduce modest quantities of a new substrate into a fully established tank (tank was setup 10+ years ago)? The tanks has two common clowns, polyps, two trachy's, some softies and lots of shrooms.

I'm not looking to replace the entire CC bed, but I'd like to create an area suitable for the helio's and sandsifting cretters.


Thanks!!!
KD
__________________

__________________
kendodblg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 09:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Crete Illinois
Posts: 656
You should be able to do it. I changed out my 125 from CC to sand. (300 pounds)
You just have to do it gradually. I did mine in sections of thirds. I waited for about 2 weeks for the sand to start catching up and then changed another third. It worked out OK for me. I don't think you should have a problem.

I would wait with the new additions until your new substrate has had time to mature some though.

Mike
__________________

__________________
125 Gal-35 Gal Wet/Dry-Tetra-Tec PF500 HOB Filter
(3) AuquaClear 301 Powerheads-600 GPH Circulating Pump
Automatic Tempature Controller
5-6 Inch Sand Bed-200+ lbs of LR
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 09:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I would take it all out over time so the bacteria has time to reproduce. i would do it in 3rds and add sand as you go. Covering CC will just keep traped waste in the tank. CC is not the best because it traps waste causing Nitrates so it requires regular cleaning.
Add sand to the tank through a PVC pipe long enough to reach the bottom. Pour a little in at a time so you don't get a big sand storm.
What type of lighting do you have....
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 09:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
thats funny typing same time.....same thoughts.....
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 09:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by seaham358
What type of lighting do you have....
Nearly 400W of PC (1/2 10K, 1/2 actinic). Canopy isn't tall enough to go MH.

I'll vacum the CC and push it to the side as I introduce the aragonite substrate.
__________________
kendodblg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 08:27 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
don't forget to rinse the sand. It may still end up a bit cloudy, but it will settle
__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 09:07 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Crete Illinois
Posts: 656
Do a search for "Tropical Storm Sparky" and you'll see what happens if you don't do it right.....LOL

Mike
__________________

__________________
125 Gal-35 Gal Wet/Dry-Tetra-Tec PF500 HOB Filter
(3) AuquaClear 301 Powerheads-600 GPH Circulating Pump
Automatic Tempature Controller
5-6 Inch Sand Bed-200+ lbs of LR
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1/2 and 1/2 substrates? matratzac Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 06-10-2006 07:42 PM
Substrates for SW Saltwater Reef Aquaria 37 04-17-2005 08:01 AM
Substrates havefun Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 02-19-2005 05:09 PM
substrates enviraMENTAL Cichlid Discussion 12 01-13-2005 09:08 PM
changing water without changing temperature hashbaz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-31-2004 10:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.