Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-27-2005, 12:16 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: fayetteville, tn
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to tinman
chech this out...(update)

Ok this is my new setup, everything I built except the tanks and pump. Works great been up for 10 hours and the water lines have stayed the same, it also never, I repeat never lost its syphon while I drained the tank with a bucket to move it in the garage. I drained the top tank completely and picked it and the owerflow plumbing all in one unit. took it in the garage filled it back up and the syphon took right back off with out me priming it....YEAH it works...here are some pics




the stand turned out really good keep in mind I havent put the background on the tank yet, most of the plumbing will be hidden.



the tank 20 long

the plumbing


the sump/fuge ignore the crazy silicone job I will clean it up, and I know my baffles are too high will fix later.

whatcha think
__________________

__________________
tinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 12:53 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: fayetteville, tn
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to tinman
Oh and a question Can I mix my sand and my CC. I have 50 lbs of sand and 20 pounds off CC. Anybody done this and it worked OK.
__________________

__________________
tinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 04:11 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
The CC will eventually become the top layer as the finer sand particles settle to the bottom. Great job on the setup- it looks awesome.
__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 12:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: fayetteville, tn
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to tinman
thanks...It was 2 days worth of work to get right. Now I just need to get my LR rubble. Can I take some base rock and break it up then add a piece of LR to seed it? This is for the inflow chamber in the sump.
__________________
tinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 12:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
What happens when you loose the power? How much water drains down into the sump? Have you tried it to make sure you do not overflow the sump/fuge?
Looks good and yes base rock can be broken and seeded with LR rubble, just takes time to become LR...
thats a lot of PVC...
I would toss the CC and just use sand...
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 01:20 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: fayetteville, tn
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to tinman
Quote:
Originally Posted by seaham358
What happens when you loose the power? How much water drains down into the sump? Have you tried it to make sure you do not overflow the sump/fuge?
...
yeah I have run a test of power loss and it fills to about 1/2 from the top of the sump. I have a hole drilled right bellow the surface in the return line so a reverse syphon doesn't happen. The cool part is that I turned the pump off let all the water drain, inflow from syphon stopped no water running at all, no flood. I turned the pump back on and the water leveled back out and the overflow started without me doing anything to it....I love this set up. It runs at about 400 gallons per hour. I tested with a 5 gallon bucket and pumped the water out using my return line. It took 45 seconds to drain the bucket. My estimate is 400 gallons perhour. Oh and all that PVC was free. My stepdad had a pile of PVC pipe in his shop I raided. I had to buy about 8.00 worth of fittings. Thanks for the reply
__________________
tinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 01:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: fayetteville, tn
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to tinman
So far so good. I have had everything up and running for 48 hours as of last night, so I transferred all my stuff from my ten gallon over to the new tank. Ph levels, salinity and tempature were the same so there was no real issues except finding the snails..lol... No leaks, no floods, and other than evaporation about an 1/8 of a gallon each day so far no water problems at all. My camera is still broke but I got a friend that is going to lone me his for the night so I will post picks later.
__________________
tinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 02:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Stockton Ca
Posts: 232
great design, just what Im looking to do! what is that box looking thing you used for the overflow?
__________________
90 gal SW tank / cascade 700 canister fliter / Coralife super skimmer / 3x402 PH / 100lbs LS / 80 lbs LR / 30lbs base rock / 2x65w & 2x96w PC / 2 moonlights
PiscesLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 04:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: fayetteville, tn
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to tinman
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiscesLou
great design, just what Im looking to do! what is that box looking thing you used for the overflow?
The overflows are made of a 2 inch PVC pipe coupling with a cap and a 7/8 inch hole as close to the rear corner as I could get it. I just took my dremel tool and cutt slots in the top for the skimmers and stuck the 3/4 pipe through the hole in the bottom, I did have to silicone the bottom pipe. The plans for the overflow are in the first post. I will post more detailed pics later.
__________________
tinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 06:28 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: East Windsor, NJ
Posts: 254
Rather than toss the CC it could be used to make LR. Check out garf.org
__________________

__________________
EJS4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
update and cry for help on new planted tank.. HAPPY Update sherry Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 10-28-2005 03:49 PM
Another Update quadrider5953 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 08-13-2005 09:41 PM
update puffbaby Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 08-02-2005 04:15 PM
update mother2kamryn Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-21-2003 04:41 PM
Update ADCISCO Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 11-16-2003 03:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.