Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-09-2004, 06:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Chemically, I Just Don't Understand...

OK, I get a high nitrite, and ammonia reading for my qt tank in which I'm treating with cupramine. It is a 20 gallon tank. I then do a water change of 12-13gallons, and retest. The levels are still high. Chemically I dont understand how this can be. Please advise this newb on the chemical truths of water changes.
__________________

__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 06:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 426
I can not help you with the Chemistry, I swore not to think about it after college. One thing to think about is if the Cupramine is causing false test results. I know it is not comforting, but hopefully the water is OK and the tests are just skewed.
__________________

__________________
Hook'em Horns!
MadManMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 06:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
I could only dream......
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 07:06 PM   #4
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadManMac
One thing to think about is if the Cupramine is causing false test results. I know it is not comforting, but hopefully the water is OK and the tests are just skewed.
Very true. From Seachems FAQ....
http://seachem.com/support/FAQs/Cupramine_faq.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaChem
Q: I'm using Cupramine™ and my ammonia test kit is showing ammonia off the scale. What is going on?
A: Ammonia test kits can not distinguish ammonia from the amine based complex present in Cupramine™ and will therefore give a false high reading for ammonia while using Cupramine™. Our Ammonia Alert™ and MultiTest: Free & Total Ammonia™ test kit do not suffer from this problem as they utilize a gas exchange technology that can distinguish ammonia from amines.
Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 07:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 2,725
All a water change is is dilution, which just comes down to fractions. Lets say you had 100 parts in your 20 gallon tank. 40 parts ammonia, and 60 parts water in your tank (your fish are probably not happy here). If you do a weekly 25% water change, 5 gallons of your 20 gallon aquarium, you will be removing 1/4 of the 40 parts ammonia, and 1/4 of the 60 parts water leaving you with 30 parts ammonia and 45 parts water leaving a total of 75 parts. Add back 25 parts of new water, and you end up with 30 parts ammonia, and 70 parts water.
RogerMcAllen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 11:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
With qt you are going to have some ammonia and trites, especially when treating with meds. You do water changes to battle it and do your best to keep it down. I have never achieved a perfect 0 on both of these numbers in qt, but my fish have done fine with the water changes. Its a temporary thing, the fish I have put through qt have been tough enough to endure the relative short time spent in it.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 12:19 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
BTW rev, how are the fish doing? Is the disease subsiding?
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 12:26 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Yes! Thanks! Only one fish had syptoms of ich, and he had little spots on his body as well as fins. The spots on the fins are gone, and the ones on the body dont even look the same. They are almost gone also.

Side Note: The ammonia is not the real problem. It is the Nitrite that is driving me crazy. I realize that I will battle this with the qt and medicine, it's just that a 12g water change didnt have much effect on the trite levels. Mama Mia! 8O

Side Note 2: I tested some of the water that I had left over for the next change, and I have already added the cupramine. The trite levels were 0. I will try the ammonia, and let you know.

Thanks all, your the BOMB!
__________________

__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chemi, chemical, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I don't understand what's going on =/ i3k Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 29 02-18-2008 02:10 AM
I don't understand... jmcbubbles Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 17 01-20-2006 05:59 PM
I need some help to understand Zagz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 08-30-2005 08:28 PM
If I understand this right... okpondlady Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 08-11-2005 11:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.