Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-04-2009, 11:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 211
chemicals for saltwater tank

do any of you use any detox or chemicals such as prime, stress coat, ammo lock, or any of the stuff that says they will remove all ammonia, nitrates, and nitrites from your water? if so what brand and what chemicals do you ad? API, Kent? anything else?

after having a tank for a few months with livestock already in it i think it might be a good idea to do this to avoid any unnecessary stress or fish dying, sick fish, and algae problems.

Also RO water, I have the columns that i pour my tap water through to get me good water. I did see in the store there are chemicals you can add to regular tap water to clear the tap water of all the additives to make safe water to add to a fish tank. Do any of you use this? Which is best, or does any method work better for you? 2nd way seems cheaper and less time involved to make a mixture.
__________________

__________________
stan450z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 11:46 PM   #2
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
RODI is the only way to go IMO. It gives you a known starting point. No need to add chemicals.
__________________

__________________
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 12:19 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mtlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 347
I use RODI and also use prime along with it for the stress coat
__________________
mtlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 04:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
I use just the RO/DI water. Are you having any issues? Don't get into the habit of adding chemicals and don't add anything you can't test for.
__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 06:21 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Copepod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hills of Northern KY
Posts: 192
I don't use any chemicals and don't use RO/DI either. My water is good and I just aerate it for several days and then add salt/heater and powerhead for a couple of days and leave it in the Brute with heater/ph until I am ready to use it. Unless you find your water has Nitrates in it this will work. With Nitrates I think you have to go further.

Also, if you are into corals you might prefer the RO/DI...most do.
__________________
I wish I could walk my fish ....
Copepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:41 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I use RO/DI water as well but I am also on well water but I do not use any chems either.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:48 AM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
RO/DI water and PWC`s is all I need.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 05:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 211
ok i use RO/DI water too
http://www.mops.ca/graphics/roaf-175-2.gif 2 of these side by side.

i was just asking if i could use some detox additives to make sure ammonia, nitrite, nitrates are perfectly 0 instead of just counting on partial water changes and waiting. I would like to keep my water stress free.

On a side note, I think my damsels are hiding and losing color either maybe my levels are bad, or some damsels are really going at eachother and attacking eachother.

I have 2 black and white and 3 blue yellow tails. One b+w is really big and chasing everyone i want to get rid of him. 2 of the 3 yellow and blue hide in my rock, away from the big damsel, one is very light blue color, another is darker, but its tail is frayed, looks attacked. doesnt come out much. One has died already, I dont know if it was because it was attacked, or just stressed from one weekend when my temp went up real right and i lowered it the next day.

i dont trust my redsea test kit anymore. i heard lots of other people think they suck too. would rather get API or check it for good at my LFS. My yellow tang is scared to approach me in the tank and usually hides in the back. the damsels come up to me when feeding - of course the ones that are scared and hiding now. At least all of them used to do it while they were all healthy and together.



All my fish tend to be on the twitchy scared side so I want to make my water more perfect. and add prime to these damsels to see if they are sick or just stressed from attack. Thoughts people? Looks like I have to do lots of trial and error. Want to get it right with these damsels or get rid of them so I can add more fish like angels, clownfish, tangs expensive fish. want the water to be right and make sure i do everything right before adding them.
__________________
stan450z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 06:24 PM   #9
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
You have cycled the tank right?
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 07:40 AM   #10
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
http://www.mops.ca/graphics/roaf-175-2.gif

What is that? A DI chamber w/ a added carbon chamber?

Do you test your water parameters?
__________________

__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chemi, chemical, chemicals, salt, saltwater, saltwater tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Dosing chemicals in my tank garth7 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 12-16-2007 08:14 PM
Adding Chemicals to Tank???? kjord97 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 10-07-2005 07:51 PM
New tank chemicals bheusmann Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 09-05-2004 09:27 AM
adding chemicals to the tank WarOrks15 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 03-10-2004 10:03 PM
Ich In My Tank: How Much Salt if any with chemicals? New Fish Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 12 02-04-2004 02:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.