Chemiclean - Red Slime (Cyano-bacteria remover)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Caige

Aquarium Advice Freak
This is my first time using this. Can you all help me confirm what I need to do here....

I need to shut off skimmer
remove chemical filtration (carbon)
Add an additional Koralia 1 flow rate
Mix dosage in separate bucket with some water -- then add to the tank.
Do a 20% water change after 48hours

This sound right? So I can leave my return pump on??

Anyone know if my water will change colors when this is in? If I perform system tests, what should I look for?

I have usually found out from others that it might take care of the problem short term but it always comes back. It is a band aid solution. Long term would be to take care of the fuel source.

Definitely understood --- I have done a 20% water change every day for 3 days. I have rinsed all of my filters / sponges in the water change water.. I also rinsed out my BIO balls.

I added about 2 lb's of LR rubble and am going to leave WITH the BIO balls for a couple weeks, and then take out the BIO's completely.

All my test results are coming back perfectly...

I believe i'm on the right path!

If you believe you're on the right path, then why do you want to use the chemicals?

Getting rid of cyano doesn't happen overnight, even if you do all the right things. Our tanks are complex little ecosystems that don't turn on a dime, if you know what I mean. If you think you're on the right path, then I'd continue the path and see what happens.

Just my nickel's worth...

I just thought it would give me an "extra" push to getting it cleaned up.