clams in pc lighting?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I have a crocea clam under my PC's. Its doing great! I have 130 Watt jbj's and a 29gal though. I dont know if you are refering to the watts per gallon or if you're just wondering if they will work under PC's? HTH

Most will say no. I am not an expert on clams but MH is what I have read is needed for most if not all clams.

ya most of what i've seen is MH's but i was just wondering if one would do good under my light...i got almost 7 watts per gallon of water (actually a little more than 7 since rocks/sand take up at least 5 gallons) but MH's at a lower watt still has more punch thru the water than what i've got. and what does "sp" mean? i see that everywhere, but i have no clue what it means.

I would say give it a go, you have more then adquite lighting it seems. Just because you see people always using MH with claims it dosnt mean you have to. I have see claims under PC/VHO doing just fine.
sp meaninf spelling? not to sure of it.

ok thanks. I was thinkin it meant spelling but i wasnt sure lol. And are there any clams that stay smaller or do they all grow to get really huge? And the lfs here just got a shipment of a bunch of them...they've got one that i want thats got the blue...whatever those flap things are that come out of it...it was only about 5 inches long and i think it was like, 60 bucks...you wouldnt happen to know what kind that is offhand would you? and how strong of lighting they need? i'm thinkin that once my tank is older and more stable (not that it isnt stable now) i'll give one a try. I hear they're sposed to be really good filters as well? but you'd prolly need a whole bunch to actually filter a tank lol.

yes but also requires more filter feeding and some people cannot provide enough for the clam without fouling their water.