Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-16-2005, 01:02 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via MSN to StripesTheEel
Cleaner Shrimp

So I've had my x2 cleaner shrimp for about 2 weeks now. About 3 days ago I found that one had moulted.

Im new to shrimp..well cleaners anyway.. just because they're rare here and are about $160 for a 2-3inch specimen..

So.. do they moult just for growing purposes.. Are pristine water conditions needed for moulting. Is there anything I can be doing to help the shrimp?

Thanks!

StripesTheEel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 01:12 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Usually shrimp will molt shortly after being introduced to a new tank. Good water conditions are needed for all inverts in general, but iodine is important in aiding in molting. Regular PWC's will take care of/replenish the iodine in your sytem. Iodine can quickly become toxic even if slightly overdosed so If you do decide to dose anything be sure to test for it first.
I don't feel so bad about the LFS's by me charging $25-35 anymore. HTH

Old 08-16-2005, 01:23 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

I sometimes wish in the US. Everything SW is so much cheaper than here. The amount of money I've spent here, would rival some of the best tanks in the US. If only.. Yeah i have to go buy an iodine test kit. But yeah everything looks good. The cleaner shrimp have formed a symbiotic relationship with the zebra moray. Its very weird. I have some great shots of the shrimp cleaning the eel. Absolutely awesome to watch.

Thanks Michael
Old 08-16-2005, 01:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
I have some great shots of the shrimp cleaning the eel
Very cool!
Quote:
Yeah i have to go buy an iodine test kit