Cleaning and breaking down large tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kphilly2017

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey all,

So I have a post already that really explains why I’m cleaning and breaking down a large tank. Basically I have a large aquarium that I haven’t had a chance to setup. I will get the exact dimensions here soon, however they may not be needed for this particular post. I am a current college student, who is getting his first BA, then a second one, and then hopefully going to Vet School. (My University’s Vet school is highly competitive so I will be in school for quite some time, haha.) Anyhow, I’m moving into another apartment in July, and I will be on the ground floor. My tank is definitely going with me.

I was just wondering if anyone has any advice on getting the tank cleaned up and any methods to make the move more safe for the tank, and just overall easier.

The tank did have salt water but it sat for at least a year or so. So there is biofilm and probably left over salt creep in it. It contains about equal to or less than 100 pounds of rock, that is also covered in biofilm. There is about a 2-3” sand-bed. In the main tank and the the sump.

My goal for this move is to be efficient and proactive. So if there are ways to clean it and say package things such as the sand or the rock, I will do them ahead of time. I already have a return pump, a wavebox, heaters, Ro/DI unit, filter socks, sump (created my own out of 55 gallon tank). I’m sourcing the other things that I need, and I can hopefully have them purchased and delivered before I move. That way, on the first day I move I can bring the tank into my room and set it up immediately, and begin my cycle. I would rather work my room around the tank, and my tank around the room. I’m designing and building a more efficient stand as well, with a ventilated canopy.