Cleaning liverock help!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishyFrick31

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to this. Though I have years of experience with fish working in pet stores etc. this is personally my first time working on a reef tank.
A few questions for you about live rock etc.....
1.) how do you clean the algae off of live rock? 2.) what do you advise cleaning a live rock with? 3.) what if the live rock has corals on it?
4.) how often do you usually clean live rock?
5.) what types of organisms are best for cleaning liverock in a reef tank??

If you guys can give me personal advice or send me any how to videos that you think would greatly help me out with any or all of these questions I would really appreciate it.

1, 2, & 3 - That depends entirely on what kind of algae it is. Most times a tooth brush and siphon will work.

4 - The only cleaning I ever do of my live rock is taking a turkey baster and blowing it off occasionally. This will depend entirely on how your tank is behaving.

5 - For cleaning live rock I would probably choose to use some hermit crabs. Astrea, turbo, and turban snails are also good choices for a clean up crew. Urchins will also help clean the algae off of rocks.

A lot of these answers depend entirely what your algae problems are. For the most part algae problems are solved by low nitrates and phosphates. If you want to take some pictures of the problem areas we can help guide you more.

I'm new to this. Though I have years of experience with fish working in pet stores etc. this is personally my first time working on a reef tank.
1.) how do you clean the algae off of live rock? 2.) what do you advise cleaning a live rock with? 3.) what if the live rock has corals on it?