Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-28-2005, 07:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX USA
Posts: 348
Closed Loop system anyone have drawings or pictures on a

drilled tank. I can't find a pictures of one drilled in the glass and I need it so my guy building my tank will know what I'm talking about. This is all confusing the daylights out of me.
__________________

__________________
-Scatcat-

Don't take life too seriously, No one gets out alive.
Scatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 08:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
If you are going to drill instead of having a intake right below the surface of the water just have it drilled for a bulkhead sized to match the pump you are using for the loop. I would have the intake feed from the top. You can move it or if you change your mind you can just take it out. Will not clutter your tank any more than a bulkhead with a screen on it. If you want me to draw a pic let me know.
__________________

__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 10:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX USA
Posts: 348
Do you mind drawing me a picture. I just can't seem to picture it in my mind. Thank you.
__________________
-Scatcat-

Don't take life too seriously, No one gets out alive.
Scatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 11:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
pictur

Here I drew something quick. To clarify if you go over the top you can still drill a hole if your top is not open but you do not have to put in a bulkhead fitting if you do not want to. But drilling in thr side or bottom is stationary and another place for a possible leak.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pictures, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do you make a closed loop system? fishmonkey General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 07-21-2009 03:22 PM
closed loop system partypalooza5 DIY Projects 1 07-13-2009 11:57 AM
Closed loop system clowninround General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-02-2005 03:32 PM
Pump size for closed loop system? runway1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-11-2005 05:00 PM
want to Try a Closed loop system Jedihunter Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 07-23-2004 11:21 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.