Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-02-2013, 01:30 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kurtyboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 1,413
Send a message via MSN to kurtyboh Send a message via Skype™ to kurtyboh
I just moved, I have my livestock in my qt at a friends house to make everything a little less stressful. I drained wiped (with my fish towels that never see soap) and rinsed my dt (jbj 28 nano). I refilled the tank yesterday morning and the water is still very cloudy this afternoon (red Sea coral pro salt) I have never had it stay cloudy like this so was looking for some thoughts on it. Should I drain and make new wait longer?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130802_132207.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	28.7 KB
ID:	189765

That's about 30 hrs of mixing I have a korallia nano 425 and both accella powerheads running to mix.
The only thing that changed is i switched carbon brands.
__________________

__________________
kurtyboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 02:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
I've seen water get cloudy when the water gets added into the salt.
__________________

__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 02:39 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kurtyboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 1,413
Send a message via MSN to kurtyboh Send a message via Skype™ to kurtyboh
So you think it'll clear up eventually?
__________________
kurtyboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 03:29 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
I honestly have no idea. I would give it a while and see what happens. How long before the livestock needs to go into it?
__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 03:45 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kurtyboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 1,413
Send a message via MSN to kurtyboh Send a message via Skype™ to kurtyboh
They're in another tank doing fine so I have pretty much as much time as needed and usually give my water a few days after mixing before using, but I know it's usually clear fairly quickly. I don't want to be waiting on this for a few days and still have to toss it to start the process over. Plus I miss watching my fish...
__________________
kurtyboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 03:57 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oohitsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Central, OH
Posts: 1,600
Could it be that the tank is going through a cycle and that's a bacterial bloom?

All my tanks do that when they are nearly done cycling, but they are all fresh
__________________
Oohitsae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 04:12 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kurtyboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 1,413
Send a message via MSN to kurtyboh Send a message via Skype™ to kurtyboh
It shouldn't be cycling, but that doesn't mean it's not bacteria...
__________________
kurtyboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 05:16 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Have you tried to use any kind of polishing media?
__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 05:38 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kurtyboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 1,413
Send a message via MSN to kurtyboh Send a message via Skype™ to kurtyboh
Just the carbon
__________________
kurtyboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 06:11 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Do you have any way to run some filter floss?
__________________

__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.