Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-15-2011, 09:39 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Clown Behavior

Ok, so I am pretty new to all this and very well may be reading way more into it than I should.

I have a pair of regular clowns. About a month ago I bought a pretty nice size Frogspawn hoping they might host it. About 1-1/2 months ago I watched what is pretty common behavior for a pair of clowns. The larger showing some aggression and the small showing the twitching submission behavior. I havenít seen it in a while though. Last night, I saw something that has me puzzled.

The larger clown (not sure if it is female yet) started swimming into a pass thru cave in the rocks close to the sand bed. It would hover in the cave then come to the opening and point straight up with the tail close to the sand. Then it would use the tail to hollow out the sand making a depression. It would then swim over near the Frogspawn and hover but never really enter it. The smaller one, was hanging at the other end of the tank and now and then the bigger one would go over and be aggressive and the smaller one would twitch.

None of this behavior was continuous but sporadic throughout the night. Especially after the whites went out and only the blues were one. I just had a sneaky suspicion that she was either getting ready to mate or to host. Anyone have any thought? I am not concerned but just curious.

Old 11-15-2011, 09:43 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Could be setting a place up, or just being goofy. Mine started swimming against the PH currents yesterday and almost got shot out the water. Lil' guy is not as strong a swimmer as he thinks...lol

Old 11-15-2011, 09:48 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict