Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-30-2012, 10:47 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Daddy-o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 135
Clownfish Jumping?

My 1.5" clown has twice now jumped into my overflow box (inside the 90gal tank). I have not seen it happen, but I do not see a way for him to swim in there. The larger clown is staying in the tank.

Should I put a net or screen over the top of the overflow? I'd hate for him to jump up there and then just die.
__________________

__________________
Daddy-o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 10:56 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daddy-o
My 1.5" clown has twice now jumped into my overflow box (inside the 90gal tank). I have not seen it happen, but I do not see a way for him to swim in there. The larger clown is staying in the tank.

Should I put a net or screen over the top of the overflow? I'd hate for him to jump up there and then just die.
First check for stray current and ammonia/nitrite, often these can cause fish to jump. However your best bet is a screen top for jumpers. Otherwise likely he will be found carpet surfing one day.
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:50 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Joe5688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NW burbs of Chicago
Posts: 393
What is stray current?
__________________
100g Slightly planted, 6 Platinum tiger barbs, 3 Marble angles, 5 Tourquoise Rainbows, 5 Bosemani Rainbows, 10 harlequin rasboras, 1 Botia loaches, 2 gbrs 2 mystery snails
35g 1 marble gar, 9 BA tetras
Joe5688 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 02:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
Some devices like pumps and probes can leak a little electricity into the water. You can sometimes notice it when working in your tank with bare feet. You might feel a tingle, Fish do not like this. The faulty device needs replacing. And you can add a grounding probe to the tank, many do. A sensitive voltmeter can tell if you have a problem.

Otherwise, fish jump for all sorts of reasons. I keep my tank covered in clear mesh (BRS) because a favorite fish could jump anytime.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 04:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bioteacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 306
I just my little clown this way:-(. I had a brief ammonia issue so that was most likely my issue. Previously, he had gotten into my overflow too. This time I found him dried up on the floor. Sucks. He is the first fish I have ever lost. I am definitely making a net cover.
__________________
bioteacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 04:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
I would go with netting from BRS..

It could also be your larger clown. Is she agressive? That could cause the smaller one to jump, ive heard of it happening. The bigger one just spooks the smaller
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 01:22 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregcoyote
Some devices like pumps and probes can leak a little electricity into the water. You can sometimes notice it when working in your tank with bare feet. You might feel a tingle, Fish do not like this. The faulty device needs replacing. And you can add a grounding probe to the tank, many do. A sensitive voltmeter can tell if you have a problem.

Otherwise, fish jump for all sorts of reasons. I keep my tank covered in clear mesh (BRS) because a favorite fish could jump anytime.
Exactly, usually not the problem but something to look into. Usually you will feel a light or strong tingling when u put hand in the tank. But sometimes its not really noticeable to us atleast.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 02:14 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bkmrsteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daddy-o
My 1.5" clown has twice now jumped into my overflow box (inside the 90gal tank). I have not seen it happen, but I do not see a way for him to swim in there. The larger clown is staying in the tank.

Should I put a net or screen over the top of the overflow? I'd hate for him to jump up there and then just die.
mine did this to, only he took the ride all the way to the sump! Placed some zips threw the over flow grates for about a month. Now they have grown large nuff not to slip threw, or know better. I love my baby clowns though!
__________________
Bkmrsteel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 08:21 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mikestanked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Segundo, California
Posts: 289
What's your temp? I've seen fish do this when the temp is to high. But its probably not that common
__________________
YOU EAT SHARK=SHARK EAT YOU!



mikestanked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 10:23 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
I would check your water parameters and check for stray voltage to see if it's a defective piece of equipment. If you find a defective piece of equipment replace it and "DO NOT PUT ON A GROUND PROBE" if it happens again the ground probe will make the problem worse. Get a couple gfci receptacles instead and plug half of your equipment into each one, make sure there is at least one powerhead on each so water still circulates if one trips.
__________________

__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clown, clownfish, fish jumping

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.