Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
View Poll Results: Ever thought about running filterless?
I run filterless now. 13 41.94%
I've thought about it. 7 22.58%
Pure insanity 11 35.48%
Voters: 31. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-03-2006, 10:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
Completely Filterless!? POLL

**** PLEASE LEAVE COMMENTS IF YOU VOTE***


I was just wondering how many ... if any ... run a tank completely filterless? Not including HOB refugiums, I am thinking more along the lines of just HOB filters, Canister styles, or Wet/dry and Sumps!

And of course going with the maximum amount of LR for tank size and PH's for water movement!
__________________

__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 10:37 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
I do not consider a sump filtration. I have a sump and refugium. HTH
__________________

__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 10:47 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
Ok .... exclude the sumps then to. But Brenden, your Uber Tank probably doesn't need much Filtration as it is!! Over a 1000lbs of LR and I'm sure about 490 Powerheads!!! LOL
__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 10:59 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 477
I run a HOB filter on my sump, but that's just because I run carbon.....I have thought about taking it off, however, as carbon has mixed reviews.
__________________
Dr.Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 11:21 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
see .... hmmmm???

I have a 29 gallon and I was thinking last night that the only thing in my HOB filter is LR rubble. The HOB filter is just sucking water and running it over the LR Rubble right? So what if I was to remove that filter and just add another PH (already have 2 MJ 900's) for extra flow? I have about 60lbs. of LR in the tank and could possibly add another 20 if needed. The only downfall that I can think of would be no place to run chemicals if needed i.e. Carbon.

I just hate the HOB filter and at this point don't think a wet/dry is a possibility. I know there was a post from someone with a 29gallon recently that was just running a HOB refugium ... which is a definite possibilty.

Anyone think I'm crazy?
__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 12:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: St. Augustine/Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 648
Send a message via Yahoo to Florida8
I am with out anything on my 29g .

I have around 50+ pounds LR, very live LS now... I have a Millenium 2000 HOB with a Bio Grid. I removed and I only run carbon pad 2 weeks on 2 weeks off.... I do run the millenium. all the time, even with out the filter pads as it gives the center of my tank extra flow... 160gph soft flow plus I have 2 power heards (one at each end) and I have a place to drop a carbon pad to polish my water too.

I am adding a sump, only to have a place to sink the heater, add top off water and such.... no bio balls or antything.

I ran my 55g the same way whe I had that.

Whatcha got in your 29g?
__________________
Kimberly in NE Florida
*******
Cycle complete Early 2-06
29g reef
2 ph and 1 HOB =460 gph
130watt Orbit lighting system
50+lbs lr
1 blue green chromis, domino, blue devil
6 turbo snails
1 mantis GRRRR!
Florida8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 12:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
Ive got a 30g with nothing but lr and a hob skimmer and power heads.

600gph from the ph and about 280-300 fro the skimmer.
__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 12:21 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
Ok so .... you run a filter but a very small one right? My main beef with the filter I have is it throws off micro bubbles like crazy and makes my water look dirty, I can't stand it!

Maybe I need to go with just a smaller filter? Then only thing that turns me off about filterless is no place to run carbon if needed!


and in the tank I have ....

Approx. 60lbs of LR
3.5" - 4" of sand
2 MJ 900's

Livestock includes ... (as you can see a very very light bio-load)
Perc. Clown
Royal Gramma
dozens of snails and hermits
3 heads of Candy Cane
shrooms
Zoo's
Closed Brain (favites)
and thats about it ...
__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 12:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
For FOWLR you have plenty lr to just add a skimmer to have ample filtration. Butimnot sure about reef.
__________________
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 12:26 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
The tank is a reef tank. I do have corals just not many!
__________________

__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It seems I have messed up completely. Marconis Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 46 01-02-2007 01:41 PM
So, should I go filterless? SeeDemTails Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 09-17-2006 10:39 AM
Fish in a filterless bowl? Michele Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 68 02-18-2004 01:45 PM
Fish In A Filterless Bowl? Michele Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 02-17-2004 06:02 PM
If I were to try doing your skimmerless & filterless met swishyfishies Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 04-25-2003 04:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.