Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-01-2006, 08:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
confused :(

im very confused about whats goin on with my water. i have been battling algae for awhile now. when i used distilled water from walmart, i didnt have any problems, but i was tired of lugging water so i got my ro/di unit up and running again. this seemed to be going ok, but i couldnt get ahold of the problem. it would come less and less, but still came. (i did have a bunch of snails die, which caused ALOT of problems, but i did plenty of water changes with the distilled water and it was a LONG time ago. i did 30-40% water changes every week for about 3 weeks or so) i finally got a tds meter because i was confused. well the tap water tests at 288. i tested the ro/di water and it tested 309. i changed the filters and its at 355 now. does that make sense??? im very confused. i feed every other day, sometimes every 2-3 days (i feed frozen mysis and formula one, which i rinse in ro/di). my bioload is very light, only a yellow watchman goby and a maroon clown, along with about 10 hermits, 2 pep shrimps, and a cbs, in a 55. i have 30 lbs lr and 30 base. please help!!!
__________________

__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 08:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wilmington, North Carolina
Posts: 558
if you can find it one an urchin will help battle the alge. Besides that Ill leave the other tank parameters to the experts...HTH
__________________

__________________
Any home mortgage questions feel free to ask. Thats what I do when I'm not tending to my tank!!
beachbumin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 09:16 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
Did you change out the prefilters only? Or did you include the expensive ro filter too?
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 10:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
well its a 6 stage unit and i get the pack that the "guy" sells, which are 5 filters. i change them every couple of months, i havent even had the unit a year yet. its these http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...4212&rd=1&rd=1. i thought i was getting everything i needed. maybe not??

i have thought about an urchin (or other algea eatin critter) and a debris eating star, but i dont want anything ot die on my account. i want the water quality to be at its best first.
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 10:16 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
You`ll probably need to change the RO membrane also.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 12:29 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Wow. I can't imagine the membrane failing that soon. Mine is over 2 yrs old and my TDS tests at 1.

Are you sure your not catching the discharge water?
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 02:08 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 66
Does the "post-polishing" activated carbon filter make sense to anyone else? Wouldn't this result in less pure water?

You might try testing the water immediately after the DI resin stage.
__________________
rubikcube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 05:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
according to his site, the filters are supposed to last a year, but i thought i had really bad water, so i changed them every couple/few months. i dont think im catching the discharge water... ill have to double check. ill also have to check the post polishing thing too.
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 08:13 PM   #9
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
You should have a line coming from the unit that has water you cannot use. I just run that line out in the yard to water the grass.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 11:23 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
The carbon filter after the DI chamber is for taste only. I do not use mine at all since I use the RO/DI for the fish tank only. I have an aquasafe canada unit and I bought my filters from them. They recommend changing the filters every 6 months. I have gotten more from mine though.

Are you getting a fast steady stream or a thin slow stream? This will vary depending on water pressure but the discharg line will be alot faster than output line.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused!!! roka64 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 11 06-04-2006 02:11 PM
Confused Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 03-08-2006 09:42 PM
so confused by my new LR copi Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 02-23-2005 01:30 AM
Confused?!..... Keepers_girl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 05-23-2004 10:00 PM
So very confused Leahdanilalton Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 04-28-2004 12:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.