Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-17-2008, 03:55 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Hmmmmm...Phosphates...nasty...What salt mix are you using? Even .2 is too much. Baically if you detect Phosphates in your water at any point, tap after RO/DI or in the tank it is too high.

So, what salt mix are you using. What kind of water pressure to you have at your house? What were the results of the PO4 test on your tap water?
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 04:24 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Along with Ziggy's questions... your own well, or is it a municipal water supply?
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 04:39 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MsBeanCtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
Along with Ziggy's questions... your own well, or is it a municipal water supply?
we're on a small community well of 250 users. I'm not sure exactly what our water pressure is.....I believe it's on the low end of average.

I'm using Reef Crystals and have been since the beginning. Yes, before you ask, I've always had problems with phosphates in my tank but never this high before.

I'm wondering if I should opt for like Safeway or Central Market filtered water (the ones where you bring your own container and fill them).

I haven't been home yet to test my tap water yet.

ps-thank you very much for your help with this-it is really starting to bother me.
__________________
If you can't run with the big dogs - stay on the porch! ***Adopt a retired greyhound ***
MsBeanCtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 06:40 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
PO4 can also be introduced into your tank via feeding. Checking source water and mixed SW prior to adding it to the tank is a great starting point. IME, food has played a much greater role. What do your feed, how often and how do your prepare it?
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 08:08 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by MsBeanCtr View Post
we're on a small community well of 250 users. I'm not sure exactly what our water pressure is.....I believe it's on the low end of average.

I'm using Reef Crystals and have been since the beginning. Yes, before you ask, I've always had problems with phosphates in my tank but never this high before.

I'm wondering if I should opt for like Safeway or Central Market filtered water (the ones where you bring your own container and fill them).

I haven't been home yet to test my tap water yet.

ps-thank you very much for your help with this-it is really starting to bother me.
Is there any actual algae problems or are you just worried about the test results?? If there is no problem and you are getting a PO4 reading of 1 ppm, then your test kit is bad...

While food (especially flake food) is a very common source of PO4, if you are getting a .2 ppm reading right from your RO/DI WITHOUT adding salt, something is terribly wrong with the test kit or the RO/DI unit. I would take a water sample down to the LFS and have them test for PO4 for you and see what their results are..
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 09:21 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggen View Post
...if you are getting a .2 ppm reading right from your RO/DI WITHOUT adding salt, something is terribly wrong with the test kit or the RO/DI unit.
Yup yup.

And if you've just changed the DI resin, I'd say it's the test kit. Boy... wouldn't that be a nice answer to the problem!
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 10:43 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MsBeanCtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
Yup yup.

And if you've just changed the DI resin, I'd say it's the test kit. Boy... wouldn't that be a nice answer to the problem!
Yeah right....you think it's gonna be that easy?! Nawww....

I just tested right out of the tap and came up with right between .05 and .1

I thought it might be the test kit too but I tested with two different kits (two different brands too).

I'm not really having much of an algae problem (a small patch of cyano). My feeding schedule is --

One day a cube of frozen mysis shrimp or emeral entree or rod's food (very, very well rinsed in tap water-thanks to a tip from lando)
Following day a partial sheet of dried seaweed
Next day is without food
Next day a pinch of Formula 1 & 2 marine pellet food
then start the next day with the frozen food again.....

I'll be out tomorrow so I'll get the lfs to test it for me.

What are your thoughts for using the filtered water from a grocery store (you know the ones when you bring your own container)?
__________________
If you can't run with the big dogs - stay on the porch! ***Adopt a retired greyhound ***
MsBeanCtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:17 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
That water is not worth the expense IMO! I'm stumped. I use reefcrystals as well and have no detectable phosphates. I'm on a well and my water is phosphate free from the tap and everything else free after the RO/DI filter. I'm not sure what to say. Could be a funky batch of salt mix. I would be curious to see what the LFS has to say when they test the water. I would take them a sample of tap, RO/DI and SW to test.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:32 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy953 View Post
That water is not worth the expense IMO! I'm stumped. I use reefcrystals as well and have no detectable phosphates. I'm on a well and my water is phosphate free from the tap and everything else free after the RO/DI filter. I'm not sure what to say. Could be a funky batch of salt mix. I would be curious to see what the LFS has to say when they test the water. I would take them a sample of tap, RO/DI and SW to test.
Couldn't be said better. Sounds like a solution to me
__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:47 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy953 View Post
I'm not sure what to say. Could be a funky batch of salt mix....
The numbers she's giving are straight out of her RO/DI and tap... without any salt added.

Out of Tap, prior to RO/DI: 0.05 - 0.1 ppm
Out of RO/DI, no salt: 0.2 ppm

That just don't make sense! I'd say your RO membrane is bad. Is there any way to sample water before the DI but after the RO? Got a "drinking water" spigot on your unit? If so, then compare your post-RO number to your pre-RO number. Post-RO obviously should be lower. If not, then there's your problem. And if your post-DI number is higher than your pre-DI number, then your DI resin is shot and is leaching stuff back into the water.

Even running tap water through a DI resin by itself, with no RO, I'd expect you to get more than 10 gallons... but then again maybe you're water is particularly nasty right now. I run a dual cannister DI unit off of a Kold-Steril unit (no RO) and get between 50 and 80 gallons per resin charge.

With the wet winter we've had, you could be seeing a spike in the phosphates in the well water due to excess surface runoff. Just grasping at straws...
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
phosphate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
phosphate problem hackteck Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-23-2006 02:04 PM
uh??? phosphate problem help?!?!?!?! chabooky386 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-08-2005 10:11 AM
Phosphate Problem! Ladykrup Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-21-2004 04:09 PM
phosphate problem KLN Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-30-2004 06:33 AM
Phosphate Problem - Please Help awillemd1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 32 11-06-2003 09:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.