Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-03-2006, 12:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 436
Converting HOB filter to fuge?

I have an old whisper hob filter, and I have been pondering turning it into a fuge, as I dont have enough room on my nano tank for my skilter and a fuge from usa aquarium on ebay.

I like the filter idea because it is big enough for chaeto, LR rubble, and a light on top of it, and it already has a pump built into it, so my pods could flow back into the tank. And it is way cheaper!

Good idea/Bad idea?

I was also thinking about addin some LR rubble to the extra area of my Skilter.
__________________

__________________
SeeDemTails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 04:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 298
Here's a couple of threads outlining how some have done this:

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh...hreadid=679159

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showth...hreadid=601201
__________________

__________________
20 20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 05:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 436
Awsome, I knew it was a good idea!
__________________
SeeDemTails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 05:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
would that hob do it yourself fuge also work for lets say a 55g tank? i have an old hob filter laying around somewhere
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 05:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
would that hob do it yourself fuge also work for lets say a 55g tank?
IMO you would need more room than it could provide to see any real results on a larger tank. Adding more LR to your main tank would be a better option if possible.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 09:18 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
i already have 100 lbs of lr in a 55g i think its safe to say im at my maximum amount without turning my tank into a rock display heh
__________________

__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converting, filter, hob, hob filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting from HOB to Closed Loop - looking for suggestions tbates General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 02-25-2007 12:39 AM
HOB Fuge.. tjara03 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 02-24-2006 03:24 AM
what PH for HOB fuge steve r Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-09-2004 08:12 AM
converting a hob filter to a hang on refugium electrikat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 09-28-2004 07:29 PM
converting sump to fuge lando Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 08-03-2004 12:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.