Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-26-2003, 05:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 20
copepods

hello out there,
I was wondering how one would go about getting copepods into my tank, I have currently housed a mandarin for over five months and it seems fine. I am not sure if there are any of these "pods" in my tank now for I have never seen one. Also i am about to set up a sump and was wondering if i could use that as a refugium for the "pods". Also had a question about the sump, I read that the bio balls will do wonders for removal of nitrite, and ammonia, but the nitrate levels will soar. If that is the case, how do you combat the climbing nitrate leves?

thanks
__________________

__________________
LOVEYOURPOOLGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 08:12 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
I am not sure if there are any of these "pods" in my tank now for I have never seen one.
Look at your rock and substrate at night after the lights are out.

Quote:
Also i am about to set up a sump and was wondering if i could use that as a refugium for the "pods".
Absolutely

Quote:
If that is the case, how do you combat the climbing nitrate leves?
Don't use the bioballs, use the LR and LS as your nitrification and denitrification media
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 11:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 20
do you mean live rock and live sand in the tank or should I put lr &ls in the sump area of the filter? and do you mean dont use bio balls at all?
__________________
LOVEYOURPOOLGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 11:38 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I mean don't use any bioballs at all.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 11:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 20
okay but what about the ls and lr should i get more for the sump or just rely on whats in the tank? as of right now I have only a 2" dsb, w/about 45lbsof lr.
__________________
LOVEYOURPOOLGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 11:49 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
To rely on LR for nitrification you need about 1-1.5 lbs/gallon. More in the sump can't hurt, I won't set up another tank without a refugium.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 03:52 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mtns of Denver, CO
Posts: 346
About the pods in question. I was wondering if I had any also, but was told that a few hours after lights out, to get a flashlight and put it on the tank and watch for a little while and boy oh boy was my sand LIVE there were little tiny critters scurrying all over, needless to say I was happy
__________________
It's not a dress, it's a kilt.
pipermurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 10:43 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 37
Reefrunner,

I have an EcoSystem and their directions call for bioballs in the first compartment and the third compartment. Are you telling me these are bad?

Why do they sell them then?
__________________
BigNEMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 07:50 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I am unsure what the eco system calls for, I have not used it, in a natural system they are not a good idea, if your system calls for it...I would use them.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2003, 10:48 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 20
so reefrunner,
would it be feasible just to take, say a 20 gal long tank, plumb a inlet and outlet, put some ls and lr in the bottom and have myself a sump/fuge?
__________________

__________________
LOVEYOURPOOLGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
copepods

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copepods? theyoungaquariest Nano Reefs 6 12-05-2008 06:48 PM
Copepods OniTweak New Acquisitions 3 09-05-2008 10:20 PM
Copepods dustyeisner Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 01-17-2008 03:46 PM
copepods? Rachelinwy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-10-2007 03:45 AM
Copepods New2Salt Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 12-05-2002 10:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.