Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-06-2013, 03:42 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shirtlessbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma View Post
why not farm them yourself? set up a basic 10g tank with some macroalgae in it, and dump a bottle of pods in. once they start breeding, youll be able to pull from there to feed your maintank.
I like that idea. Sounds like a fun project. Only questions is if you put a refugium on that tank does the universe implode?

Refugeception 0__O
__________________

__________________
Shirtlessbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:47 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
only if the thought of the world imploding was planted in your dreams, to manifest itself by your own doing.
__________________

__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:33 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Droneshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Chester
Posts: 86
Send a message via Skype™ to Droneshooter
Would I need to supplement the tank with anything or just a light and power head
And what should the salinity be at for them
__________________
Droneshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:42 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jaketit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma View Post
why not farm them yourself? set up a basic 10g tank with some macroalgae in it, and dump a bottle of pods in. once they start breeding, youll be able to pull from there to feed your maintank.
That's a good idea. But how would you circulate the water in it with out chopping them up?? Very interesting. I'm thinking a small fish bowl I can stash under my stand.
__________________
Jaketit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:44 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jaketit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaketit View Post

That's a good idea. But how would you circulate the water in it with out chopping them up?? Very interesting. I'm thinking a small fish bowl I can stash under my stand.
Ha!! Air stone on an air pump. Great another thing to plug in. Lol
__________________
Jaketit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:50 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Droneshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Chester
Posts: 86
Send a message via Skype™ to Droneshooter
I'm just gonna use a hob filter but I'm just gonna set it in the tank at the bottom
__________________
Droneshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 08:09 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
yeah youll need a either a nano powerhead or pump to circulate the water. also the big thing with pods are that they prefer dirty water. so youll prob want to leave the lights on for 2-3 days continuously to let algae overrun the tank. also I wouldn't do water changes but every so often.
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 09:37 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Pods eat phytoplankton so before you start culturing pods its best to get a phyto culture started. When you fill your tank for pods you add a whole bunch of the phytoplankton culture in the water to turn it a dark green. After that add pods and aerrate with an air pump. There's no need for a powerhead, filter, or heater. I'm currently in the process of growing enough phyto to do this myself.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 10:24 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Droneshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Chester
Posts: 86
Send a message via Skype™ to Droneshooter
Do I have to heat the water
__________________
Droneshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 10:25 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jaketit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
Pods eat phytoplankton so before you start culturing pods its best to get a phyto culture started. When you fill your tank for pods you add a whole bunch of the phytoplankton culture in the water to turn it a dark green. After that add pods and aerrate with an air pump. There's no need for a powerhead, filter, or heater. I'm currently in the process of growing enough phyto to do this myself.
Can one use some of the waste from a skimmer collection cup??
__________________

__________________
Jaketit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.