Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-14-2012, 11:39 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crystal A
Get a saltwater test kit. A freshwater one won't give you the right readings I would think.
No it will for ammo, nitrite, nitrate. Ph wont work. Trick is you need a sw testing card
__________________

__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:20 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Crystal A's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,069
Ahh got ya, I thought that but wasn't quite sure.
__________________

__________________
Fish are our friends.
Crystal A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:29 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbia, TN
Posts: 667
Ph works also, i use a freshwater api test kit on a saltwater tank. I know the ph works because I have a red sea carbonate hardness kit has ph as well and they test the same, and the only one that tests a little off is the ammonia, you have to adjust it up one on the card, like the .25ppm color is 0ppm, and .50ppm is .25ppm and so on
__________________
Saratj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:55 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saratj1
Ph works also, i use a freshwater api test kit on a saltwater tank. I know the ph works because I have a red sea carbonate hardness kit has ph as well and they test the same, and the only one that tests a little off is the ammonia, you have to adjust it up one on the card, like the .25ppm color is 0ppm, and .50ppm is .25ppm and so on
Ph works?? Awesome. Yeah ammo is a bit greener
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 01:45 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Readingexcalibur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,305
Well I couldn't find any salt water this late at night. Out of mix. And I re tested my nitrates and ph. PH is at 8.0 and nitrates are at 40. I am not feeding tonight and I will change the water first thing tomorrow! This happened really fast!
__________________
"When you're down by the sea and an eel bites your knee... That's a Moray"
Readingexcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 02:08 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
That has got to be it, try to do that pwc ASAP
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 10:52 AM   #17
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,532
This isnt the cause of the issue, but turning off filters to clean will help if you bump it when cleaning. I take entire units off my tank if it is hob just to remove the filter to prevent the buildup from getting back into the tank.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 01:40 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
FYI - there are downloads of the API cards here - Downloads; Pump and filter Instructions, Test Kit charts
Saltwater & freshwater are different for everything aside from nitrite.

Also, you have LPS corals - have you tested your calcium levels? It sounds like you have the Kh test (turns to yellow).
__________________
Japache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:30 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jabibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 282
If ur kh is at 15. Thats way to high
__________________
Jabibi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 07:11 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Readingexcalibur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabibi
If ur kh is at 15. Thats way to high
How to I minimize this? Water change?
__________________

__________________
"When you're down by the sea and an eel bites your knee... That's a Moray"
Readingexcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coral

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.