Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-21-2007, 03:07 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to artoledo Send a message via MSN to artoledo Send a message via Yahoo to artoledo
Well recently i have become good friends with the owner at my LFS and he gives me really good prices and advice as well. I asked him what his water parameters were and he said that if i wanted he would get mine the way his are. Makes for easier acclimation i think. I dont buy any livestock off the net so i think that i will benefit from it. ( I have nothing against internet shopping, Shipping is too expensive)
__________________

__________________
If it doesn't work, use a Hammer.

-----Armando-----
artoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 03:10 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Using a QT that matches your lfs parameters is even better then setting up your main to match.

This post goes into more detail.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 03:19 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to artoledo Send a message via MSN to artoledo Send a message via Yahoo to artoledo
If i spend any more money on any type of tank, my wife will have an aneurism. The idea is superb. If i make a strong crack at my wife with what i have just read, i might be able to win the fight. I never thought of it tho. Thanks Micah.
__________________
If it doesn't work, use a Hammer.

-----Armando-----
artoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 03:37 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Doesn't have to be a tank, could just be a plastic tub which you can get for around $10-$20. That and a HOB filter with cycled media (and Purigen) and you would be set.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 03:46 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to artoledo Send a message via MSN to artoledo Send a message via Yahoo to artoledo
I just order Purigen 2 days ago from ebay. I hear nothing but good things about it so i decided to buy some and drop some in my sump.
__________________
If it doesn't work, use a Hammer.

-----Armando-----
artoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 03:51 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Sounds good, just make sure the water flows through the media and not around it for the best results. I've used it for about a year and half now and it keeps nh3/no2/no3 at 0 ppm for months and is easily regenerated once it's turned brown so you can use it again.

Another product I absolutely love is PhosBan used with a PhosBan Reactor 150 , Maxi-Jet 400, 1/2" tubing, & 1/2" ball valve (comes with the reactor) to control flow (60-90 GPH). It gets your po4 to 0 ppm within days.

You donít have to have the reactor and you could put it in sump/hob filter but it helps to keep it from clumping and is more effective if you do.

This is an Iron Oxide Hydroxide product that when used in a fluid reactor (to prevent clumping) greatly reduces po4 levels. If using with corals it's best to start off with 1/4 the recommended dosage to see how they react since some corals will retract, bleach, or die off if po4 is reduced too quickly. (The algae in some corals also is feeding off the po4) If your corals show no sign of problems increase 1/4th weekly. If you don't have corals then I'd use the full 150g from the start.

Keeping no3/po4 at 0 ppm has never been easier using these two products and tank has never looked better and is always algae free.

If you have any questions about either just let me know.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 03:56 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to artoledo Send a message via MSN to artoledo Send a message via Yahoo to artoledo
I dont think i need the PhosBan. I have never had any traces of po4. (knock on wood for that one) I dont know, maybe as i add more corals some will appear?
__________________
If it doesn't work, use a Hammer.

-----Armando-----
artoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 03:59 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Tanks still fairly new but if you ever do then I'd keep it in mind. You add po4 every time you feed and po4 is very harmful to most corals. Only way to remove it is constant weekly pwc, reducing po4 from food (i.e. rinsing frozen before adding), or using a po4 removal product like Phosban.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 04:11 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to artoledo Send a message via MSN to artoledo Send a message via Yahoo to artoledo
Gotcha.
__________________
If it doesn't work, use a Hammer.

-----Armando-----
artoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 04:51 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
I've had great luck with Purple-Up - no alk problems, and it helped raised the CA levels when I was using Instant Ocean salt (which always had very low CA readings).

I have a tank that's less than 3 months old (relocated an existing tank into it), and I've got tons of pink and purple coralline all over the glass. It's not covering everything, but one side has a solid growth of it that's about football sized - right where the flow from a powerhead hits.
__________________

__________________
180G build thread

180G All-glass with dual megaflows in a custom stand
AquaC EV-180 skimmer
250 pounds LR
160 pounds aragonite
Custom acrylic sump from GlassCages.com
2xPCX-40 return pumps
2x250MH 14K, 2x175MH 14K - PFO lighting, 2x65W PC
No-name 36W UV
Water General 125GPH RO/DI
Filstar XP3
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coral, coraline

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coraline Tank2379 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 12-22-2008 03:33 PM
Coraline ? swjunkie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 02-03-2006 07:35 PM
Why no Coraline ?? aquanaut Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 04-28-2005 11:54 AM
Can Coraline DO THAT?? kcandcritters Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 02-24-2005 08:42 PM
Coraline? sumphead Saltwater & Reef - Identification 3 12-04-2003 07:39 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.