Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-31-2012, 09:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kevinalewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 90
Coraline algae

How do I get it? Tanks currently been set up at my house for the past year. Before that at neighbors for three. All parameters are good and calcium kept at 440-460. I have tried scraping what little I do have and putting it in the water flow. I also have tried purple up. I know purple up doesn't contain any spores, just buffers/calcium. Any help would be appreciated. Current lights are 2x 175 20k mh and 2x 96 watt 10k pc.



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-784232507.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	44.2 KB
ID:	97947

Pic of tank just taken.
__________________

__________________
Kevinalewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 09:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
Add some rock with a nice amount of coralline. Then it's just a waiting game with your specs. Make sure to keep calc up.
__________________

needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 09:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Octavio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 137
Yeah bro just seed it with coralline algea and I say a week or 2 u will notice some on other rocks and add purple up I been using it for about a month and there is coralline algea in every piece of rock
__________________
Octavio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 09:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Octavio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 137
See my vid on you tube camarillo861
__________________
Octavio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:28 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
Make sure your strontium levels are high. Coralline algae is comprised largely of strontium. Usually it isn't low but surprisingly some people have lower than needed amounts. Also, aerating your RO water before mixing your salt can help stabilize your calcium, alkalinity and pH levels if your not monitoring them. You'll need good water flow of course. Very high light levels can make growing it hard for some people, especially MH. Not always, but it does prefer low bluer light in general. First step would be to check your strontium and alkalinity.

When you scrape, turn off your skimmer and remove your mechanical filter pads or sock for about half a day to keep the spores from getting removed. that way they can settle around much better. Good luck!
__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, coral, coraline

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.