Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-21-2003, 12:31 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 507
Send a message via ICQ to Gauge Send a message via Yahoo to Gauge
Crud in Water

I have a Bakpak2 HOB filter and a sump on my 42 hex tank. I turned off the bakpak because it somehow allowed microbubbles into the tank it bugged me. I have a protein skimmer, but it's not in my tank cuz I bought it off ebay and it's too big for my sump.

Now my water has a ton of junk floating in it. It looks like I just dumped 20 pounds of sand in the tank a couple hours ago. Suggestions?
__________________

__________________
- Gauge

92-gallon corner tank, 100lbs of LR, 140lbs of sand, 250watt 10,000K MH, 110watts of actinic PCs, Mag 7 return, custom refugium, AquaC EV180 w/ Mag 5

Female lyretail anthias, eyelash blenny, tomato clown, saddleback clown, firefish goby, 2 sand-sifting stars
Gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 09:55 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Is this crud floating on the surface like its a film on the water or is it acutally suspended within the water column? Either way it sounds like you need to get your filter and you skimmer up and running.

I was under the impression that the BakPak2 was a skimmer. Maybe it needed to properly break in or maybe it was configured wrong and that was causing the bubbles into the tank. new skimmers often do this till they breakin (usually a few days time)
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 11:04 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to AngelFishFan
Do all protein skimmers do this? Because I do not want to purchase one if all it does is produce an excess amount of bubbles in the water! its totally unappealing.
__________________
-Keegan
AngelFishFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 11:09 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
All skimmers will hlave a break in period. This is a result of how the skimmer operates. While this break in period is going on it may dump some bubbles out into the tank. The reason is that the plastic/acrylic that the skimmer is made of is usually has some risidual chemicals from the manufacuring process and this causes the water to have a slightly higher surface tension than normal. After a few days the bubbles will no longer be introduced into the display.

Other causes of microbubbles into the tank from a skimmer is a result of it being inproperly configured/setup.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 02:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 507
Send a message via ICQ to Gauge Send a message via Yahoo to Gauge
It's in the water column, not on the surface. Bakpaks are a filter/skimmer combo. It's more of a skimmer, though, because the biomedia is all submerged, so it doesn't do much.

The Bakpak had been on there a while, but there was a crack between compartments that got worse, so I turned it off when microbubbles got through that crack. Now the junk is in the water... I'd say it's small enough to be classified as clay. Very, very small particles. I assume that's why they aren't being taken care of by my prefilters.

Should I just find another protein skimmer? Would that likely take care of it? It's not that bad, but if the lights are on, the particles are visible if you look closely, and it bugs me. My water used to be crystal clear.
__________________
- Gauge

92-gallon corner tank, 100lbs of LR, 140lbs of sand, 250watt 10,000K MH, 110watts of actinic PCs, Mag 7 return, custom refugium, AquaC EV180 w/ Mag 5

Female lyretail anthias, eyelash blenny, tomato clown, saddleback clown, firefish goby, 2 sand-sifting stars
Gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
White crud donttaptheglass Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 02-03-2006 03:30 AM
Crud from cartridge Botia4Life Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-12-2005 12:18 AM
Brown crud in the water? robocop Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 16 10-29-2004 06:46 PM
Crud in my water Gauge Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-27-2003 10:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.