Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-04-2006, 02:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
crushed coral vs. sand

Do you need a sand base for a reef tank? Also is ther any way to take crushed coral out of a tank and put sand in if there is already fish and live rock in the tank?
__________________

__________________
triggerman888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 02:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
Switching substrate

Is ther any way to take crushed coral out of a tank and put sand in if there is already fish and live rock in the tank?
__________________

__________________
triggerman888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 03:08 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
crushed coral vs. sand

Quote:
Also is ther any way to take crushed coral out of a tank and put sand in if there is already fish and live rock in the tank?
Yes, I did it and so did a few others. A pain, but I think it paid off in the long run. I would suggest doing 33-50% of it at a time. This will allow the beneficial bacteria and other substrate critters time to move to the new sand. I did mine 1/3 at a time, just to be safe. I moved my LR to one side and used a plastic strainer. I also did a 30% PWC afterwards.

+++EDIT+++
You don't have to have any kind of substrate. This will depend on what you want in your tank. If you want a critter that lives in the sand, then you will need a sand substrate and so on......
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 04:42 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Switching substrate

Is it just me, or are you posting the same topics in other forums? I just want to make sure I'm not crazy, or didn't eat something funny at lunch....?

+++EDIT+++
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=84151


LOL!! Ok, I'm not crazy. I'm sure others will be along to give their experiences....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 05:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: So. Oregon
Posts: 128
i changed mine over about 2-3 weeks into the cycle...i only had damsels...

i removed all the rock, removed about 80-90% of the CC. moved the rest to the back of the tank, and dumped in my rinsed sand.

i highly recomend it..

i did it mainly because i want a wrasse, and they need sand bed to sleep in.
__________________
_________________________________________
phish7740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
from what i have read, it is best to replace substarte a lil bit at a time. say, 1/4 or 1/3, while doing water changes. the key is to do it slowly so ur not harming the bacteria in the tank... its best put in using pvc (or the large part of your syphon) so there is no sand storm.
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:12 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,891
The two threads have been merged into one thread.
__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:27 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Crystal Minnesota
Posts: 388
When I changed from Crushed coral to sand I put some of the crushed coral into a pair of new panty hose. The hose are thin enough to let the bacteria out into the new sand bed. Kind of ugly for awhile but it worked good for me.

Josh
__________________
Joshsmit56001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:45 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vienna, West Virginia
Posts: 219
I changen mine 1/3 at a time over a 3 week period.
__________________

__________________
ckmn101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coral, crushed, crushed coral, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sand or Crushed Coral blrrobinson21 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 02-22-2009 11:08 AM
crushed coral or sand cadu20 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 07-04-2008 02:38 PM
Crushed Coral or Sand? What do you use? 1brent1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 30 11-13-2005 02:52 PM
Sand vs. Crushed Coral spinman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 27 06-14-2005 06:28 AM
sand or crushed coral dookie320 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 07-08-2003 11:39 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.