Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-23-2008, 02:38 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I agree with the above advice.
Sand back in now to become LS sooner and less of a sand storm later.
Protein skimmer off during cycling to let the cycle run it's natural course.
No PWC's till the nitrites drop to 0, then a 30% - 50% water change, turn the skimmer on and start adding livestock SLOWLY (e.g 1 new fish per month).
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 11:53 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmor1701d View Post
I agree with the above advice.
Sand back in now to become LS sooner and less of a sand storm later.
Protein skimmer off during cycling to let the cycle run it's natural course.
No PWC's till the nitrites drop to 0, then a 30% - 50% water change, turn the skimmer on and start adding livestock SLOWLY (e.g 1 new fish per month).
I second this... every single word of it.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 08:49 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
ive put all the sand back in now , but indeed it came with a sand storm it. the sand is really fine and im struggling to get the powerhead in a position which is direced at the rocks because its lifting u the sand two . it looks like ive got them right now though. will the sand effect the health of the rocks , as i can sea some light sand on the rocks .
__________________
farmz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 09:15 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
No, the sand will not deteriorate the rocks and can be blown off later after the silt has somewhat settled.
__________________
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 05:36 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
ok i have another drama .

ive put the sand in the tank but because it is so fine its gettin blwn around with the powerheads in the tank ive tried movin them around but i just cant seem to get it to stop
im thinking i should just replace the substrate with a heavier grade should i completely replace it or can i just put the heavier stuff ontop of the sand
will this effect my cycling process.
__________________
farmz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 11:46 AM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
NO! DO NOT replace the sand. DO NOT add a heavier grade. Add a raw cocktail shrimp from the deli counter or fish store. This will aid in getting your cycle going. As the bacteria coat the grains of sand the sand becomes heavy enough to settle. I could not see my LR for about a 4 days when I added my sand. Then I could only see the outline of the rock for a few more days. It took about a week for the sand to settle. At that time I removed my power heads, took them apart and soaked them overnight in white vinegar. That helped to remove the buildup and several rinses finally got them clean enouhg to go back into the tank.

Today I can create a major sand storm and it will clear within an hour. A minor one clears in a few minutes.

Of course if your power heads are too strong then it might never clear.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 02:30 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
and what if my powerheads are too strong hahha. do i get a heavier grade n puty on top .
__________________
farmz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 02:10 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
How about turning off the power heads till the sand settles. If your power headsa are too strong for the tank then you should go bare bottom.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 04:01 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Or get powerheads with less flow.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
curing, live, live rock, rock

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Live Rock Done Curing? jwburleson97 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 03-27-2007 11:26 PM
Live Rock curing - is this possible? Clown Monarch Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 10-03-2005 02:28 PM
curing live rock egon Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 01-19-2004 02:08 AM
Curing Live Rock tarheelblue2121 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 10-21-2003 07:56 PM
Curing Live Rock reefrunner69 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 05-20-2002 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.