Curing live rock

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

farmz

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
im just a newbie

ive purchased 10 kg of live rock for my 260 litreaquarium , ive decided to cure the rock in my main aquarium my test results are ammonia 0.25 nitrite is of the scale and nitrate is about 30 ppm is this normal for cycling
alsoSome of my rock is turning white It looks like a hard coating, it's not soft or slimy and doesn't rub off with my fingernail. Any idea what it could be?
thanx

It`s probably just your old corraline turning white. It will return to the original color provided your water chemistry is right.

welcometoaa.gif

Mike answered your coraline bleaching question.

It sounds like a normal cycle. The ammonia should drop to 0, the nitrites should start falling and the nitrates should increase. When the nitrites are down to zero and stay there for a few days it is time for a 30% water change. Let that stabilize for a few days to a week (o ammonia, 0 nitrtite, negligible nitrate), and you are ready to start adding some life.

Do you have a QT tank set up? You should consider setting one up and cycling that (a biowheel type filter is perfect) to house your first livestock for 30 days before putting it into the main tank.

curing live rock

thanx 4 that guyz

yeah at the moment its only been cycling for about 2-3 weeks
but i was just gettin worried about the white stuff on the rock ill see how it goes 4 a while .
ive got a protein skimmer goin at the moment is it better to switch it of during cycling or continue it running and as for water changes should i be changin water at all during cycling .

curing live rock