Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-22-2012, 08:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fishkeeper92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 349
Cyano outbreak

Seems its my turn to ask how to get rid of my Cyano outbreak. I've cut back feeding, watch my light timing, tried scrubbing some of it off during water changes, all the things i was told so far. I have not tried and chemicals since i can't find them but am willing to try. I have a 4 bulb fixture on a 20 gallon, and my phosphates have never been higher than .25 but test out at 0 right now.
__________________

__________________
Fishkeeper92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
redsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 8,066
Do you feed frozen food? If so, wash it out in a net first to remove as many phosphates as possible. Do you think your tank's phosphates rise when you feed (were your phosphates .25 after feeding)?

Other than chemicals like Chemi-clean, I would suggest that you just keep going on the PWCs.
__________________

__________________
Please don't forget about the toxins in some corals (like zoas and palythoas)
180 gallon reef announcement!:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMgmb124jrs&t=35s
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fishkeeper92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 349
I use frozen food and dont usually wash it off, which i will now. I test my water once a week and it usually takes a week or two before phosphates start showing up, but rinsing my food may help a bit.
__________________
Fishkeeper92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
redsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 8,066
Cool, let us know if it helps. I heard that fish food brands use the phosphates to keep all of the food stuck together, and that is why they put it in there.
__________________
Please don't forget about the toxins in some corals (like zoas and palythoas)
180 gallon reef announcement!:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMgmb124jrs&t=35s
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fishkeeper92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 349
I can believe it, when i feed certain cubes the water i use to break it down gets cloudy which puts a bunch of extra nutrients in the tank, thats why i drain that first. Some dont seem to get cloudy but i know there is nutrients and phosphates.
__________________
Fishkeeper92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cyano, outbreak

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.