Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-21-2005, 05:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego,CA
Posts: 14
cynobacteria problem/how to get rid of it

I have a 37 gallon reef tank I set up with established live rock and sand in August. I now am getting several patches of cynobacteria on my rock.
I water change weekly, have clear water, and the fish and corals all seem happy. How can I get rid of it, or is this just something that everyone has to go through...
__________________

__________________
reeftankman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 06:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 971
Probably due to the events of the tank change in August. Allow things to get back in balance, however increasing water flow to the areas and limiting/eliminating nutrients as much as possible would help as well.
__________________

HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 07:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego,CA
Posts: 14
Thanks for your advice...maybe I will put another Maxie pump on the other side where there is only the protein skimmer, and cut down on feeding...
__________________
reeftankman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 08:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Have you tested the water for nitrates and phosphates? Do you use tap water? Test that also..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 08:34 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego,CA
Posts: 14
Yes,
I have tested, and I only mix my own salt water using bottled purified water...
I may buy another, less powerful maxie pump tp circulate water on the other side of my tank by protein skimmer...
__________________
reeftankman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 05:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Monterrey, Mexico
Posts: 113
I would really check on your water source, as sometimes bottled water contains high levels of nitrates and phosphates... If your water is RO/DI then your problem might be water circulation and an extra PH might suffice.
__________________
Homero Cuellar
hcuellart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2005, 11:24 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
what is your exact phosphate level in ppm or mg/l?

lack of current, or presence of phosphates...that's what drives cyano.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2005, 12:45 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Posts: 4
How about your lights, how old are they?
__________________
edwardpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2005, 01:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: IL
Posts: 12
I also have this issue in my 3month 90gal. Use RO water all level are on the money however i do not test for phosphates. Should i do this or just keep it under control?
__________________
90gal display, ASM G3 Protein Skimmer in a 29gal sump. 77pds of LR and 40pds or LS. 1 aquaclear 50 power head and a maxijet 950 power head. My tenates are 2 percules clowns, 1 Coral Beauty, 2 cleaner shrimp, 10 astral snail, 2 turbos, 1 diamond watchman goby, 1 sandsifting starfish, 2 green BTA(split), and 1 Seabae green tips.
90_berlin_joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2005, 01:44 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
test for phosphates. including testing your R/O water
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bacteria

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Question (redoing tank atm) - Cynobacteria carried on Java Moss HiJaC Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 04-28-2008 06:38 PM
What is this and how do i get rid of it? MyCatsDrool Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 01-29-2007 04:15 PM
cynobacteria, should i worry! dorian965 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 04-23-2006 07:57 PM
what about rid-ickor rid-ich ? drdre Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 4 01-29-2006 01:51 AM
How do I get rid of a... Sneaker Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 22 11-18-2003 01:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.